Meet Jake, My Mom's Loveable Cat

in #cats7 years ago (edited)

People always talk about putting some "personal" content up to share knowledge of our lives with others around the world. While some people are "exciting" and "interesting" simply by their talents or the things they are doing, others such as me lead a relatively boring life. I'm not complaining mind you, I'm just pointing out that I don't think I have much to share about my day to day surroundings.

When I was thinking about this topic, I thought to myself that I did have a 1 min clip my Mom sent me of her adorable cat named Jake. I thought to myself, "this is very cute but aren't all cats kinda cute?"

So in an effort to expand myself (like I did with the silly pun) I am deciding to send a post that you normally won't see from me. Its a deviation from my daily experiences from steemit, but its a way to "walk the walk" when I give others the same advice of showing something personal about their lives.

Here goes...

My Mom lost her cat one day about a year after my Dad had died. They had been married for 55 years and she had never really recovered from his passing away. She still missed him every day so much and was lonely, but she had a nice cat named "Milly" that went everywhere she went and became her "best friend" she could always count on.

Then one day about a year ago Milly just didn't wake up. Even though she was only 3 or 4 years old, she died in her sleep. My Mom was already fighting depression out of missing my Dad from his death the year before, and now she was turning bitter and shaken as her only "best friend" just left her so suddenly too.

I am my Mother's son and there is no way I could ever be her friend and companion the way that my father was or even Milly was. She was distraught and I didn't really know what to do. After a few days I realized that she should get a new companion, one that could step in and take her constant love and attention (and reciprocate it back).

So I talked her in to letting me go down to the shelter and get herself a new kitten. She decided that she wanted two instead, so that they wouldn't be lonely if she passed away. I said ok and we went down to the shelter. My Mom would not go in because she said she would want all the kittens to come home with her, so instead she sent me in to find her two kittens that she could love.

I found 2 kittens that were just a week old and they were huddled next to each other in a room filled with 100 or more cats. They were so cute. One was a boy, he was orange and pretty strong so she named him "Jake". And the other was a girl and she was calico colored (as I later learned only females can be). She is very smart and tough too, but she is dainty and a bit cagey, my Mom named her "Sadie". Together they are like two miniature velociraptors causing mayhem side by side. They were from the same litter and they are definitely bound by blood.

Jake is very strong and playful and he's a bit of a "bull in a china shop". He does what he wants when he wants it, but he is also the lovingest cat I've ever seen. When he is in the mood, he won't let my Mom do anything but give him attention and love.

I tell you this as a backdrop to the story behind the video I'm attaching here. While it is really a short little clip (1 min) that she sent me a week or so ago, now you will know why I think its special. Jake (and Sadie) have helped my Mom move through this past year of her life with some brightness that she was definitely missing. She has love in her heart for them both and they certainly repay it back to her as you will see in this clip.

I hope you like it, to me this reminds me of why Jake is amazing!

I'm not trying to win any contest or put up a post for a few pennies. I'm doing what I have been telling others to do for the last 25 days, and that is sharing a piece of my life. To me this is amazing, but I would imagine to others it is quite average and maybe a bit boring. But I'm sharing this to go through the experience, and feel the reaction involved with getting outside of my "comfort zone".

Have a nice weekend everyone!

Sort:  

thank you Helen :) ... that's sweet!

This post has received a 17.34 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @davemccoy.

Cats are stress relievers that's why I love them.

I agree 100% @arumashi! They are awesome :)

Thanks for sharing "a piece of your life" as you say , that's the whole point of Steemit! Lovely kitty!

Thanks Ed... I was kind of nervous about it, but glad I did. Now I know how it feels.

Yeah I know exactly what you mean. But some stories are really worth reading , we don't realize it until it's out there .

Soooo cute! I love cats! Your mom and Jake look inseparable <3

Thanks my very good friend... yes they are, she says every morning he jumps on her laptop and won't let her play her games until he's satisfied. lol ... by the way, you should do this or at least send me links of your newbie friends... (I 'm counting on you doing this every so often, as it will help you and of course the newbies): https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@davemccoy/attention-newbies-send-a-link-to-me-and-i-ll-resteem-it-or-help-make-it-better-or-refer-a-link-if-you-re-not-a-newbie-but-want

I'm no longer qualified for this #newbieresteemday XD hahaha
Sure I will look for those newbies connected to me and will pass your message and this link :)

Lovely blog and sweet cat. I very much feel what you said about posting personal content, I don't usually have anything "personal " interesting to talk about. most things I post is purely creatives. keep it up and nice weekend to you too.

Thank you very much @abmakko... I completely understand. It wasn't what I think is very interesting to others. But I did it to see how I felt about it. It wasn't as scary as I thought ;)

Thanks again for the comments and have a wonderful day :)

You right, Jack is a cute cat.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @davemccoy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

You got a 25.00% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @davemccoy!

You got a 0.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @davemccoy! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64074.25
ETH 3195.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62