Rare Cat Breed: The Egyptian Mau

in #cats7 years ago

(Image source)

The Egyptian Mau was a cat worshipped by pharaohs and kings. The word "Mau" meant cat or sun in Ancient Egypt, and the ancient Egyptians revered the cat both as a god and as a treasure. Papyri and frescoes dating back as far as 1550 B.C. show these spotted cats. Many documents found from the dawn of the New Kingdom (c. 1570- c.1069 BCE) reveal that the Mau was an integral part of ancient Egyptian daily life, as well as being a creature of worship.

This short-haired breed of cat is well-known for its spots which make it one of the very few cat breeds that have natural occurring spots. Egyptian Maus are the fastest breed of domestic cats and they have been recorded at running up to speeds of up to 30 miles per hour! Not only that but they are known for having a musical voice and a friendly personality.

Being rare means that in 2006 that there are only a total of 6,742 Maus that were registered with the Cat Fancier’s Association.

Meet the Egyptian Mau Cat Breed by vetstreet.com




Sources: http://www.cfa.org/Breeds/BreedsCJ/EgyptianMau.aspx http://decatzmeow.com/about-egyptian-maus


Follow me as @darthnava: "The Steem Side of the Force is the pathway to many abilities some consider to be wonderful."

Sort:  

My daughter has one...

That is so cool...

Beautiful cat, funny all my cats over the years have demanded I worship them :-)

Although I'm not a cat lover, I appreciate the information.

The egyptian has such beautiful coat. Mao is also cat in mandarin...

He looks cool but i aint dropping on my knees

I bet you would if it was catwoman.

Then cat goddess Baast will visit you with an infestation of 100,000 fleas!

nice one upvote me

Cat assosiation :D 6742 unique cats are not much :( In Russia, there are Amur tigers, there are around 500 of them :( I'll leave a stunning footages of liberating one of them into the wild here: Syberian tiger. Have a good day ;) and btw check my article about car sharing - here.Thank you :3

I like cats and this is interesting! Thanks for sharing!

Amazing cat..

Very cute kitty. :D

This post has received a 8.73 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @darthnava.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65