Curiosity: Will It Turn You Into a Cat or a Phoenix?

in #cat6 years ago

How many of you have been told: “curiosity killed the cat”? Or maybe what I should say is, how many of you have been told “curiosity killed the cat” by someone in authority who was just trying to get you to stop talking? I have to admit, I do not recall having ever been told that with any level of seriousness and that may be why I’ve had a very strange fascination with the phrase over the course of my life. It wasn’t until adulthood that I heard the second half of that old adage, “and satisfaction brought it back.”

Although my knowledge of the origination of the phrase, particularly as a tool for quieting curious children, is extremely limited (okay, it doesn’t really exist at all) I have to wonder why adults specifically have the desire to quiet curiosity. Is it because we lack the humility to admit when we don’t know something? Is it, especially when it comes to children, a reflection of the true exhaustion that can come from answering some version of “but why” three million times a day?

I don’t know the answer, maybe it’s both. I will admit that for me, it is most strongly the latter.

Then I think about one of my uncles, Andrew, who told me in a conversation we had about seven years ago that being a parent to teenagers had been his favorite thing so far because he could now have full conversations with his kids. At that time, he and my aunt Lynne had seven children aged 14 and under, so I consider him to be something of an expert.

Building off of that, we can’t have those full conversations that help us and the people in our lives to be better if we silence curiosity. Having a lack of knowledge die is a good thing when we can be reborn from the ashes of our ignorance into more understanding, knowledgeable, and tolerant people.
paul-hanaoka-280209-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2018/08/20/curiosity-will-it-turn-you-into-a-cat-or-a-phoenix/

Sort:  

I'm glad you found this to be funny?

Congratulations @rachelhanson10! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65