Trip to Medvedgrad Castle Near Zagreb, Croatia - Steemer's ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #castle7 years ago (edited)

Medieval castle, wicked Black Queen, Altar of the homeland, picturesque nature. Sick of trading? More below!


Today the weather was too nice not to go on a short field trip. My girlfriend, couple of her friends and I decided to drive to Medvedgrad Castle. Sounds familiar?

That is right, I have talked about Medvedgrad beer a while ago! Read about it here

The brewery took the name and the logo of the castle:

Latest seasonal beer on tap is Agram Stout! Try it!


Back to the castle!

A plant which greeted us! What is it??

The road and the entrance!

Beautiful companions! :*

There is only 15 kuna (2.15$) entrance fee. A bargain if I ever saw one! On the other hand the castle grounds are still under reconstruction and some parts feel empty.


There is a big fort structure with a wonderful view.

Zagreb nestled below the slopes of Medvednica mountain.

There was a big UFO shadowing the forest. Armageddon style!

Inside there is a clay cast of the oldest inscription in Croatian language (cca 1100 AD) - Bašćanska ploča (Baška tablet)

But that seems to be it for the inside. More stuff they plan to add, I suppose.


Next, a small chapel.


And the souvenir shop.

T-shirts for 50 kuna (7.16$). Shut up and take my money! Especially when you, dear readers, sponsor me!


Finally, some history inside.

Secret Zagreb reports:
Black Queen once ruled the Medvedgrad castle, a medieval city that rises above Zagreb on the slopes of the Medvednica mountain.

Historians tend to find the source of folktales about Her Viciousness in actual female rulers of the castle. Their leading choice is Barbara of Cilli, a countess and queen that was obviously quite unpopular in the northwestern Croatia. She was also the one who supposedly walled a peasant girl Veronika up in another Croatian castle Veliki Tabor, and seemed to be a mysterious vampire who sucked blood of young people in Kneginec village.

But, even if the latter stories are not likely to be believable, Barbara of Cilli could have easily deserved her black queen reputation for many historical reasons. The fact that she was a foreigner who gained power over many Croatian towns aside, the woman was quite an intriguing, daring and mystical figure. She was a bold and deceitful politician and a brave woman who was not afraid to stand up to her husband (we're talking 15th century).

She was also widowed at the age of 46, and afterwards she couldn’t have been found wearing anything but black dresses. And most interesting of all, she practiced alchemy. What else could such a character trigger in those days, if not folk tales that would adorn her with a ghastly supernatural identity.


In the next post read more about Altar of the homeland. It deserves a separate entry, I liked it that much!

Days till the end of Lent:
12 - I can sense the ripples already!


This post supports 30 day powerup challenge.

More in my post The One Month Steemit Power Up Challenge! - Steemers Assemble!!

Camera: Canon SX170
You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics.
Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!
Cheers! @buzzbeergeeek

Something more civilized? Try London's most beautiful garden restaurant by @sweetsssj


Did you compete in Ripple pump today? :D

Sort:  

Nice sharing ! especially about black queen. Nice ! :)

Why, thank you! I was worried it might be too much text. I can never decide on volume. POst more! You have my up!

Kampai my friend. Nice ! :)

Nice of you to say! And thank you for the resteem. Followed!

Thank you! And welcome to Steemit! Any questions, find me in chat ;)

How can I chat with you

Find the chat, find my username. Take your time!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Well, that is awesome bad news. Thanks for stopping by ;)

We apologize for any inconvenience. You will no longer receive these comments on your posts.

No, no!!!! I was joking, do advertise me! I meant 'bad' as in I could have got more, like you said.

nice post, my father worked on reconstruction of the roads to the castle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57