Project: Casemod - Hardware@Wall - Frame

Habedere,

today I show you the construction of the frame.

If you missed the first part (concept); here it is:
https://steemit.com/casemodding/@theguymasamato/project-casemod-hardware-wall-concept-product-samples-and-prototyping

The frame was made out of spruce with the dimensions 2x 2000x80x60mm.
First I had to do some preparation work. (jointed, sawed and sanded)

IMG_1326.jpg

IMG_1327.jpg

IMG_1329.jpg

IMG_1331.jpg

Done with the basics.

IMG_1333.jpg

After that I made some cutouts in the frame and cut the endings to mitre.
So that in the end the MDF panel will fit "inside" the frame.

IMG_1341.jpg

IMG_1352.jpg

I also cut some slots in the corners. I will use them for the lighting in the frame.

IMG_1385.jpg

I adjusted the MDF panel a little bit to the frame, because the leather will need some space.

IMG_1392.jpg

I drilled all holes in the frame for the screws to connect the MDF panel to the frame.

IMG_1399.jpg

I didn't want to connect them forever together.
So I used some threaded screws and installed some drive-in nuts on the back of the frame.

IMG_1406.jpg

I filled and sanded everything. After that the surface was very smooth.

IMG_1410.jpg

I leathered the frame with white Imitation leather and

IMG_2400.jpg

cut some grooves to the inside of the frame. This was for the wiring and the LED strips.

IMG_2980.jpg

Then I soldered the LED's to some wires.

IMG_2982.jpg

IMG_2984.jpg

In the end I checked the work with a short test.

IMG_2985.jpg

IMG_2987.jpg

The main color of the mod will be black and white.
One way to add some color is light.
Blue will be the main color, but there will be some small areas with orange.

Here you can see the combination of these two colors.

IMG_1207.jpg

To integrate this to the mod, I cut some squares,

IMG_3037.jpg

IMG_3039.jpg

glued them into the frame and finished the leather covering.

IMG_3076.jpg

This is the final result in close-up.

IMG_3078.jpg

What's next?

I'm going to show you my spacers for the frame.
Servus and cu next time.

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33