You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 years in the making [#2] Rebuilding and restoring a 30 year old BMW - twice.

in #cars7 years ago

Exactly. Planned obsolescence. The bimmers were built like tanks back then. My last e36 had 250k miles. I was racing it, drifting it, it was part daily and I would drive the car from alabama to louisiana for work then drive to texas for the hell of it and visit friends. Just super tough reliable cars. I know a guy that was drifting a e34 535i and turboed the car at about 250k also and didnt take the engine apart until around 300k and that was bc he finally blew the hg when a wastegate stuck and over boosted. these things are built amazingly tough. you cant do that shit these days. I am so glad to see ppl rebuilding and modifying these cars still. Ultimately what killed my e36 was driver error and a wall. I have no doubts when the time comes I will be building another car and it WILL be another BMW.

Sort:  

What an awesome story, I don't know what it is with the E34 being turbo'd but it happens A LOT. They were built like that and they're not anymore and that is just a fact. Look at the E30 it's not a luxury car but it was expensive as hell in it's day, why? Cuz it's built like a tank.

Looking forward to reading about your new project whenever that may be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69