You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 years in the making [#2] Rebuilding and restoring a 30 year old BMW - twice.

in #cars7 years ago

Phenomenal work. The old bimmers are the best bimmers. Keep up the good work.

Sort:  

Will do for sure! Thanks for your comment.

Without going down the nostalgia route but yes I'd have to agree they're the best. Back then the Manufacturers were thinking how can we build the best and most reliable car and that they did. Not long after in the early 90s they realized the magic's called leasing/financing and make the cars break down so customers leave more money at the dealer.

Exactly. Planned obsolescence. The bimmers were built like tanks back then. My last e36 had 250k miles. I was racing it, drifting it, it was part daily and I would drive the car from alabama to louisiana for work then drive to texas for the hell of it and visit friends. Just super tough reliable cars. I know a guy that was drifting a e34 535i and turboed the car at about 250k also and didnt take the engine apart until around 300k and that was bc he finally blew the hg when a wastegate stuck and over boosted. these things are built amazingly tough. you cant do that shit these days. I am so glad to see ppl rebuilding and modifying these cars still. Ultimately what killed my e36 was driver error and a wall. I have no doubts when the time comes I will be building another car and it WILL be another BMW.

What an awesome story, I don't know what it is with the E34 being turbo'd but it happens A LOT. They were built like that and they're not anymore and that is just a fact. Look at the E30 it's not a luxury car but it was expensive as hell in it's day, why? Cuz it's built like a tank.

Looking forward to reading about your new project whenever that may be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39