it's time to talk about cars

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

it's time to talk about cars...

We all need the car today.

Almost compulsorily ... to travel, to go to work, to go shopping or simply move from one part of the city to another. An object that has taken part of our life and economy.

Surely there are various types of cars: sedans, station wagons, coupes, convertibles, SUVs, multivans.

They range from the least expensive to real economic follies.

New, used or historical.

Surely anyone can find the perfect model for him or her.
But in addition to this I want to talk about the economic part that requires a machine as maintenance ....

Today I went to a mechanic for a brake problem ...
He told me that maybe it is the brake pump or brake servo ... cost of repair € 600 ...
I only say that my car costs € 1000 :))

Then not to mention ordinary maintenance ...

  • An oil change and filters € 300-450 (in specialized workshop).
  • Soon I'll have to change the tires again ... another € 300
  • My car had a bit of KM (291000) I had to do the distribution ...
    from the mechanic 650-750 €, made by me 200 € ... (3 days of work between various tests)

A year ago, coming back from a long journey, about 400km, I burned the turbine ...

Really annoying O_o, because the car had no more power ... 700-800 € ..

I did not want to throw away that money and I tried other mechanics ... in the end I threw away € 300 in the diagnosis ... at that point I was angry and I disassembled the turbine trying to fix it ... strangely, with only one washing, it's back to work ...

In the end this is the truth about cars .. The car is a hole where to throw away the money ...

Surely it is useful and in certain situations necessary, but it is always a huge expense to maintain ...

What experiences have you had?

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 0.76 % from @appreciator thanks to: @vasilejurj.

@vasilejurj I think you need to dump your car and go for public transport. We all have to make an effort to fight climate change. And, the very first step we can do is change our habits. Why use a car when there are cheap public transport system available. Secondly, being an engineer I can assure you that public transport is way cheaper in the shorter or longer run compared to buying a car and maintaining it. I myself changed a fuel filter (+mechanic charges) recently cost me around $450. Thus, it is of utmost importance that we change our habits and travel by public transportation to fight climate change and make the world a better place for us and our future generations.

partly I agree partly not ..
I tell you why:
2010 I paid € 1.20 for the ticket
2018 you pay € 2.70 for the ticket

then where I go transport is not the best ... and if you work in Italy you need the car by force because the working hours are 6; 8; 14; 10 .. maybe the one of 14 take it quiet but the rest you risk not to take it or arrive late ...

have thought of it well, enslave this is their interest !!!

Why not try a motorbike or a bicycle? :)

you've "invested" about 2000€ in a car that costs 1000€. I guess that you hate but you love that car.
I had simillar issues with my antiquite but where I live the parts and the labor are way much cheaper.. I meen a break pump will cost me about 80 leva (which is 40€) and the work for replacement will be around 20 leva(10€).
..Btw great job disassembling and fixing the turbine yourself! : )

it was a struggle, I worked two days ...

Indeed, may it be time to scrap it finally. Good to see the amounts on the screen and so.

For more of my automotive thoughts, see my post.

I'm thinking seriously about changing, but I've looked at the market is the chances I have are not many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82