RX7 FD3S Big Single Turbo Build : Part 4

in #cars6 years ago

Twins are in the bin!

IMG_0604.JPG

I'm not going to make a big deal out of this post as I am absolutely shattered! @garethb myself and another friend were up till past 1AM removing the twin turbos from my FD3S. We ran into multiple challenges, mostly due to awkward bolt positions and not having the greatest set of tools at hand.

IMG_0605.JPG

Either way we managed to get them out!

I still need to remove the stock twin turbo manifold from the car but that in theory should be a lot easier.

Once that's out I can remove the lower intake manifold and start removing redundant solenoids, vacuum hoses and hard lines. I'm finally started to feel like this build is becoming achievable!

A huge thanks to @garethb for coming to help out! Hope your back is okay!

IMG_0601.JPG

IMG_0602.JPG

IMG_0603.JPG

If you'd like to take a look at the previous RX7 FD3S Single Turbo Build Posts check them out below

Part 1
https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/rx7-fd3s-big-single-turbo-teardown-and-talk-video-part-1

Part 2
https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/rx7-fd3s-single-turbo-build-2-progress-and-parts

Part 3
https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/rx7-fd3s-single-turbo-build-3-parts-hoarding?sort=new

Thanks to everyone who has supported this project. All upvotes will help toward making this build epic!

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Must say I dont miss the late nights I used to do religously on my cars over the years. They generally involved a lot of expletives and a lot of tools being lobbed down the driveway

I hear you! This was my first late night garage session since my daughter was born late 2016. I'm still trying to recover :( Getting old!

Dope! Rx7 is one of my favorite cars. I own a new Subaru WRX.

That's awesome man, I came from a Subaru background.. Had a mix of 9 WRX's and STI's :) Now onto GT-R's and RX7's :)

I hope I can graduate to that higher level one day haha or maybe ill buy a new reinforced shortblock with forged pistons and see what this fa20 can do

Sweet car man. Lots of work to do.

Thanks man, I have most of the parts already just need the time to complete the tear down and clean up. :)

check those turbos carefully for cracks. if memory serves me right they use to get cracks in the housings by the wastegate and cause boost issues.

Excellent post

Haha, I was feeling a bit tired in the morning, but still managed to drag myself off for a 1km swim - without back pain.

Always happy to help out, whenever you get more DIY time scheduled let me know and I'll come over.

Bleh, I'm too old for this shit now.. lol +- 2 weeks if you're keen. Manifold should actually be there by then too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88