Period Correct Modifications | Toyota MR2 SW20

in #cars7 years ago

As most of you already know, I recently purchased myself a Toyota MR2 SW20 and am in the process of restoring the body work and interior.

2.jpg

I've also decided to embark on a new journey. I want to know what it felt like to drive a modified MR2 SW20 in the 90's. Short of having a time machine, I've decided to purchase a few period correct modifications, basically parts that were new in 90's I'd like to fit them and tune them on my MR2 to feel what it felt back then.

A few have already arrived in the form of a 1992 Apexi Air Flow Converter, it allows you to adjust the voltage of the MAF to essentially trick the ECU in to thinking it has different values(grams) of air coming in.

I've also picked up an original 1991 Apexi Turbo Timer. I'm planning on picking up a few more 90's electronics, suspension and era specific wheels for the MR2 and documenting my journey in my timemachine.

Let me know what you guys think about this little project and what parts you would like to see installed on the car, I'll be funding this build solely with SBD. So I guess a thank you is order, THANK YOU STEEMIANS!

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

I really enjoy reading about your builds and different projects. I quite prefer this platform best as you can actually take the time to write out and explain things in words instead of a camera. I'll keep posting to YouTube, but this may be my niche. Keep up with the posts!

Great choice of a car to restore. I had an SW20 that got totaled while parked curbside at night by an unknown driver who just left their bumper. I miss that car every day and wish you the best of luck and never ending corners. These cars are greatly increasing in value in Florida as they are so rare and hard to find so keep up the good work and realize that your efforts are not wasted, but appreciated. I only have a 2003 Celica at the moment :( and its just not the same.

I'm so sorry you lost your car in such a bad way. I'm slowly working on my SW20, hopefully one day it can be restored to its original greatness! I heard the import laws in FL are a lot more lenient than the rest of the states. I believe you can get R34's and R33's without any hassle? Appreciate the kind words btw

Cool project, please keep sharing! Check out my page for some BMW E30 and E46 and Alpina related content which should be to your liking :).

Upvoted and followed!

For engine building:

https://steemit.com/cars/@peterschroeter/7-years-in-the-making-building-the-perfect-engine-super-extended-version

For general restoration/tuning:

https://steemit.com/cars/@peterschroeter/restoring-a-30-year-old-bmw-7-years-in-the-making

Lol, bad memory? We had a long conversation about your 350,000km engine on your BMW. Already following and upvoting every one of your posts mate ;)

Yeah, I gathered that after I looked at your page again - too many tabs man.

Hah no worries! have an upvote

I have WD40 and a screwed driver

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nelkeljdm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43