You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What was your First Car?

in #cars5 years ago

I'm glad you didn't nominate me, because I'm full of ideas for posts, but not enough time to write them! And also because my first car was an episode in my life that I'm not desperately keen to relive. I passed my driving test at age 17 and two months - I was so desperate to learn to drive that I came downstairs on my 17th birthday holding L-plates. My Dad taught me, after the grumpy driving instructor said it would take me at least two years to pass. A few years later, in the early 1980s, I worked all summer in a launderette during the day and serving drinks in a nightclub in the evenings, saving up enough cash to buy... a Honda 500cc (car, not bike). It looked just slightly bigger than @captainklaus's Charly contraption, and if I gave two big people a lift, there would be an ominous clunking sound at the back (the undercarriage bumping along the road).
After a few weeks, it just ground to a halt. It turned out to have an irreparable hole in the engine. The couple who had sold me this piece of trash were kind enough to refund most of the money I'd paid (I think it was about £60!)

Sort:  

You were lucky to get your cash back, I didn't for a certain car.. but that's another story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70