When a Polish town bought Tom Hanks a Fiat 126.

in #cars7 years ago

Pay it forward Polish style

On Sunday, Tom Hanks wished Monika Jaskolska a happy birthday. Hanks doesn’t know Monika at all; in fact, they’ve never met, and his birthday message was translated into Polish. She was so taken aback she decided to start to a fundraiser in her hometown of Bielsko-Biała to raise 9000 Zloty in order to buy Hanks a Fiat 126 - he is a big fan of that particular Fiat Model.




Source


Hey Presto!

The money was raised super quick, and the chain of generosity for Hanks’s benefit continued: Rafał Solnik, a Polish rally driver, offered to “pimp” Hanks’s ride to the value of $10,000. Poland’s national airline, LOT, then offered to deliver the vehicle to Hanks, in the USA, for free. The money Jaskolska raised will go to a local hospital.

The Fiat 126 was produced in Bielsko-Biała between 1973 and 2000, and instantly became Poland’s most popular car. In 1971, there were just 17 cars per 1,000 inhabitants in Poland. As a communist country, the only way to own an automobile was with money, paperwork and connections. When First Secretary issued the licence to produce the car in Poland, in a move to boost prosperity and abundance in the austerity-addled country, personal car ownership for ordinary people had become a reality.

I wonder what Forrest Gump would've made of Monika's act of kindness?

@mindhunter


Sort:  

96.54%!!!! I'm so close to home now and REAL 100% upvotes ... for the first time in 11 months!! I should get back to 100% VP sometime overnight tonight ... more steeming from the heart please R2W :)<3

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding such value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Merci for the inclusion @cem :)

You are welcome! I hope I am right about everything I wrote about you ;)

Yup! @mindhunter very happy with his evaluation there @cem :) Spot on mate!! Steem on!!

Perfect 😎

see @mindhunter those pushups after each post paid off :) haha

I was at 100 yesterday haha

I'm FINALLY reached 100% earlier this morning! OMG!! I did it :)

Enjoy it. I was there 2 days ago and the price dropped haha

Yeah! My 100% upvote at 9am was $2.34! LOL!

mine is 17 cents so lmao

OMG tom hanks in the video. :-)

I thought it was Mel Gibson! ;)

Love the story. Shows what power can do, and how you can sometimes make cool things happen just by being who you are.

I wish an airline would deliver just a car just for me @cristof! :)

I think we have to be Tom Hanks for that. Of course, that car wouldn't make us very happy, I don't think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32