Sort:  

Thanks buddy, picked up plates and licence disk today actually! This wasn't my first rodeo though, I have another RX7 and a GTR that were imported from Japan :)

Wow... car fanatic lol, and they arent little cars either!!. Are there downsides to using imported cars locally though? I remember a friend had to register just outside of SA for a few years before licensing here. He had to renew license outside every year also.

If you had to get it from a neighbouring country then it's a bit of a headache, not saying my process isn't but you basically have to register yourself as a collector then follow around 25 steps which take anywhere from 6 months to a year to licence the car. It's relatively cheap to do but you have to go through hoops of fire and the cars need to be internationally recognized as collectors items. For example you and I might think the Nissan S15 Silvia is a collectors but unfortunately it isn't :(

Darn! I see. This seems tougher than I thought! Alright, last one, what are the benefits to imports?The RX7 is available locally so why import? Are the vehicles made differently or are there specs that aren't available here?

The RX7 was never locally available, every single one here in SA was imported either cross border or as a collector's item and never through Mazda. I think you may be confused with the RX8

Google confirmed. RX8 was in my morning mind. You've just left me with some researching for the day...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69