The Very Cool History of my 1981 Aston Martin

in #cars6 years ago

I bought my Aston Martin a few months ago, but just took possession of it a couple of weeks ago. I knew some history on the car when I bought it, but learned much more tonight.

IMG_20180518_213847_364.jpg

The car was ordered new from Aston Martin by the designer Bijan. Bijan had some of the most expensive stores in the US in the 1980's. He was a huge car nut, and owned the Aston Martin until the year 2000. At that point the car was donated to the Peterson Museum. It was stored there until 2010 when it was bought from auction by the owner I bought it from. The person I bought from is a huge car nut as well, and actually had two Aston Martin V8s.

The cool part of the story is that Bijan was friends with Aaron Spelling. The car was used in the television series Dynasty which Spelling created. Below are some shots from the show.

Screenshot_20180518-203028.jpg

Screenshot_20180518-203015.jpg

Screenshot_20180518-202952.jpg

I habe a plaque in the car showing it was from Dynasty.

20180430_223914.jpg

As you can see the car had a Colorado license plate in the show. The owner I bought the car from is in Colorado and so am I!

Here is an article on Bijan from the 1980s.

https://www.nytimes.com/1985/06/28/style/bijan-on-bijan-savvy-retailer-to-the-rich.html

He died in 2011 with some amazing cars including a Veyron.

Screenshot_20180519-001742.jpg

Here is more info on my car. https://www.bonhams.com/auctions/23945/lot/67/

Sort:  

Wonderful participation
Well done . I liked your expression‏..

YOur cars are so amazing. Crazy that I just keep seeing new ones.

Hi,

Wow, good to know the special history of your collectible car. Make it that much more special.

Love your story its inspiring..you got your dreams made possible.

Wow such a nice and interesting story about your new car...its indeed a historical car

Sharp looking car my man. So that car you have now was actually in the Show ?? Pretty cool

Yes, it was the exact car in the show

This is such a great car. Thank you for the history lesson. I appreciate pretty much every car, from a Prius to a Ferrari. But this is truly an amazing car with such extensive history. To the owner of each car, history is such a big part of the purchase. I always like to hear where a particular car has been in its lifetime. 2 Big Thumbs Up from me!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83