Dodge A100 Forward Control Van: Fitting a custom Radiator #3

in #cars6 years ago


This is my pride. A 1964 Dodge A100 Display van. This half ton is the first year of production, has 95,000 miles, and has been a southern California vehicle it's entire life, and I am it's 3rd owner. I have done a lot of non cosmetic work, including a complete wiring harness.

Take a look here for my last update.

When last I left you, I had made the fitting adjustments and painted the radiator housing and side and rear doghouse panels. Over the last week, they got 2 more coats of Rustoleum Gloss Black.


I fitted the auxiliary  fan to the front of the radiator, and added insulation to the radiator housing.
The Insulation I am using is a self-sticking Poly Urethane foam with a thick Aluminum foil backing used in heater ducting applications

It's cheap and works fairly well. I may add more later, in the form of batting.

The installation is straight forward, have a clean, dry, and rough surface, and tuck and form the insulation to the metal panels, rubbing firmly to get the glue to stick. Take your time, do it right. Trim with shears and a razor knife.



As you can see, The thick foil looks very nice and will be easy to maintain.


Here is the housing with insulation fully installed, and the radiator and fan assembly bolted down and ready to go in

And here are 2 top views showing how little of the interior housing is visible. I still need to create teo fairings for the top. I will use Crome dipped Diamondplate around the hose and filler, and a plastic material in front of the radiator

And here we have two views of the radiator and housing fully bolted in

At this point, I just need to source a top hose that fits, hook up a wire, and the cooling system is complete. There is still a lot of cleanup underneath, involving more tin to be installed, and I will next insulate the rest of the doghouse and get it installed tomorrow.

This nearly completes a 3 year odyssey to get a radiator in this van, ands I will be very happy some time next week, when I take it for a drive.

All imagery by
@dawg-boy
If you enjoy my original content, please upvote, resteem, and follow me@dawg-boy  

#socalsteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemitand join our group on Discord

Sort:  

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED
Build Threads Steemit 569x200.gif
PROMOTING CAR PROJECTS ON STEEMIT

Thanks. Let's keep the wheels rolling!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 01:29:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 65.95/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You are really doing a good work @dawg-boy,keep it up

cant wait to see this guy start up for the first time

It ran when I parked it 2 years ago, just had problems with overheating whenever I got up to 50MPH or over... Talk about MOPAR Interuptus! Of course, starting may be an issue as the battery is old, and the fuel may be an issue too, so I am going to make the first run from a 1 gallon can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49