You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What was your First Car?

in #cars5 years ago

Haven't we been down this road before? I had a 1964 Barracuda. Bright Red. It had 18,000 miles on it when I got it, and 280,000 when I sold it :)

That isn't MY car, just exactly like it. I got a ticket for racing the day I got my license at 16. I won the race.

Before that I had a Yamaha YG1. I used it to get to work from the time I was 14.

Again, not this bike. I still have a scar on my right leg from a pipe burn when I crashed once. It was a nasty injury.

Even before that, my dad gave me exclusive use of his '51 Chev PU. It was this color but quite a little worse for wear and tear. His thought was if he gave me the Chev I'd leave his good stuff alone.

And I learned to drive in one of these. If you could shift that square jawed transmission you could shift anything. '48 Ford.

Sort:  

That's the coolest looking first car I have seen on any of these replies. Most of us had no money and so ended up with bangers.

Have we been here before? Perhaps with the bikes, but not the cars I think.

Somebody did first cars, I thought it was you. Must have been one of the 'lost boys' from the last year or so...

I started working for neighbors when I was 12 so had a little money. The year I turned 15 we drilled a well and started irrigating our own ground. My Dad made me a deal: Move all the water and get paid $100 per month. (He was cash poor after buying the bits for irrigating) and he'd keep the tally of what I really earned to put into a car when I was 16. I had over $3000 in credit 'on the books'. He upheld his end and I owned this car free and clear about a month before I turned 16.

He made the same deal with my brother who ended up with a '68 Camaro. By the time he graduated HS that was a serious racer :)

We had one too. I understand it's still a prized car.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71