Get your anoraks out! It's time to talk about UK car number plates!

in #cars6 years ago

WARNING! EXTREMELY LONG, PEDANTIC AND NERDY POST AHEAD!


DSCF5036.JPG


When I first bought my MX5, it had the standard 'plinth' bolted to the front bumper, which I really didn't like. It was also missing the Mazda badge, leaving the two holes and some foam tape. So I decided to give the front bumper a shave.
2.JPG


I removed the number plate and plinth and filled all the holes, including the badge holes. A quick spray and it looked great. But what to do with the number plate?

I have a vinyl cutter so I thought I'd have a go of making my own number plate. I looked into the rules on spacing and fonts etc. Not surprisingly for the UK, they're waaaay complicated! There are different rules for different years of manufacture.


My MX5 is a 1998 so here are the official rules:

"...the letters and numbers (characters)
on number plates bought since 1 September 2001 will
need to meet the following standards.

• Characters must be 79mm tall
• Characters (except the number 1 or letter I) must be 50mm wide
• The character stroke (the thickness of the black print) must be 14mm
• The space between characters must be 11mm
• The space between the age identifier and the random letters must be 33mm
• The margins at the top, bottom and side of the plate must be 11mm
• Vertical space between the age identifier and the random numbers must be 19mm

Source: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/533255/inf104-vehicle-registration-numbers-and-number-plates.pdf


Here's where you start asking yourself, "WHY BOTHER!?" Haha! Well...I like doing stuff myself if I can. I like learning new things. I like making stuff. And it was a chance to maybe do something a bit different. If it were up to me, I wouldn't have a front plate at all, so I became a bit obsessed with trying to make it as small as legally possible! You know, get one over on THE MAN! Kinda. :-P

My original plan was to put the black text on white magnetic sheet. Then I could remove the plate whenever I wanted to. Plus I already had the magnetic sheet. So I made the thing up completely forgetting...the bonnet is aluminium!

But anyway, I managed to get it down to a reasonable size. Stuck it on with double-sided tape and it's worked fine for a few years.
DSC_0045.JPG


However, the winter has been quite rough here and the snow has ragged up the edges of the letters and number. And the other day when the L fell off, I decided to try a printed vinyl plate from eBay.

So imagine my absolute horror when the new plate came and it was HUUUUUGE!

f2649cc3a9472dd66b782d409db17f92b9233bb2e5901b2a3697325463605793.jpg

Actually, it was the standard 520mm x 111mm, which I knew when I ordered it. Not a problem because I knew I could just cut down the edges a bit. But for me, the annoying part is that the letters and numbers are waaay further apart than they need to be. They're not even legal, according to those rules above. Pedantic, like I said. I know! Hahaha! But it'll do for now. I'm sure it will pass the test but I don't think I'll be keeping it!
Here's how much I managed to cut off. And next to it, the old plate I made by hand, for size comparison.
DSC_0054.JPG


DSC_0005.JPG
So it's still massive compared to the one I made. RAGE! :-P
I think I'll look at getting a JDM style plate next. I might even 3D print my own bracket. We'll see!
It doesn't look too bad in the meantime...

STOP! IMAGE NOT FOUND!

Now, here is where I was going to post a nice picture of the car with the new number plate, fresh MOT, nearly ready for summer. HOWEVER...she failed her MOT big time. It's something I've known needed doing for a long time but I was hoping to get away with it for another year. I'll cover the problem in a future post but in the meantime, here is the current situation:

I'M IN DEEP!!!


More anon.
Nik

Page_Break_01_A.png

Email: [email protected]
Website: www.alternateshift.co.uk
Shop: www.etsy.com/uk/shop/AlternateSHIFT

BTC: 1AJacg8mTL7gmzLmXKbrtuHtqfyt4NYeoa
ETH: 0x22Df6d05d437Cc7f5b2CEB1ff7048d6db85e3cEb
XMR: 4HwE44rtQbbhFgP3v1BPAAZ3y2kYRjnKt6yrTWRwKQDo7v9dCQec1ahJP3g6dCD4Qi6pUKGTSGQJNLyhdFE135QubZHyZ3xPfSWJhmjXFo

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:30:37
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 308.05/400.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is a real adventure, when you send the last photo on your last comment I thought it would be good to see how your car was looking before and here you are the pictures. I must say your Mazda looked really good but it is quite annoying to see what the regulations even in regards to number plate. But as I see you have a lot of tips and tricks and also DIY man. How far you are with your car at present, is there any end in sight.

I hope you are back to more or less normal now Nick and hope your wife's car is ready for road :)

Thanks, Stef. I'm about half way done. Working on the driveway though so I'm waiting for the weather to get better. It's a race against the clock though. We're moving in less than 2 weeks! :-O I'm hoping to get a decent day tomorrow then put it back together over the weekend...maybe.
I'll post some pictures of the work when I can...although they won't be great because they'll only be taken with my phone. Dirty hands!

It is a lot of stress to be under pressure, hope the weather really does get better for you. Would be glad to see some more pics even done by your phone :)

Nice Work. I agree with you. If you enjoy DIY it doesn't seem like work. Enjoy the results!

:-) Thanks!
Yes, exactly!

Congratulations @alternateshift! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alternateshift! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87