The carrot cake

in #carrotcake6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,
I am a big fan of sugar and pastry. It is the reason why, today, I am back to chat with you about the carrot cake. One of my all-time favourite dessert!! I could eat it day and night 😉
But, isn’t that strange to use vegetables in a cake??? Well, it is more and more usual! Nowadays, we can find cakes with carrots, zucchini, avocados, sweet potatoes, beets, kale, beans and so on! It is healthier than traditional sugar of course. Perfect for the sugar addict that I am.
I am going to introduce you to the carrot cake with a little bit of history, then I am going to give you a recipe and finally,I will give you my opinion 😊


source

1. history

Carrot cake is a Swiss specialty which has been very successful in the Anglo-Saxon world. It is one of the most popular cake in Switzerland. Often used to celebrate kid’s birthday.
In the United States, it is celebrated every February 3, on the occasion of the National Carrot Cake Day.
The oldest recipe was from 1892. The popularity of the carrot cake comes from Great Britain during world War II, because of rationing. Moreover, during the middle age, Sugar and sweeteners were expensive and hard to find so carrot was the perfect ingredient of substitution.

2. Let’s bake!

Enough talking! Now, it is time to bake a carrot cake together!
For 6 persons you’ll need

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 140 grams of oil
  • 190 grams of sugar
  • 190 grams of flour
  • Vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1 packet of dry yeast
  • 1.5 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 230 grams of grated carrots
  • 90 grams of nuts

Recipe :

  1. preheat your oven to 175 degrees (350 Fahrenheit)

  2. Mix eggs and sugar. Incorporate vanilla extract, nutmeg, cinnamon and oil. Add the flour until a smooth paste is obtained. Add grated carrots and crushed nuts. Whisk gently until the dough is smooth.

  3. Lightly oil and flour the mold and pour the mixture.

  4. Bake 30 to 40 minutes depending on your oven

  5. Prick to make sure the cake is cooked.
    If you want to add a topping to make it more delicious here is the recipe

Ingredients for the cream cheese topping :

  • 19 g butter (at room temperature)
  • 56.5 g icing sugar
  • 2/5 teaspoon of cinnamon powder
  • 110 g of cream cheese (Mascarpone ...)
  1. Prepare the icing by mixing (by hand or beater) butter, sugar, perfume and cheese until a smooth cream is obtained. Keep refrigerated until use.
  2. When the carrot cake is completely cool. Use a spatula, spread the icing on the cake.
    It is your turn! And enjoy your meal.

source

3. My opinion

5 years ago, it was the first day I tried carrot cake, it was one that my grandpa brought me. It was coming from the bakery “les tartes de Françoise”, well known in Belgium. At this time the carrot cake wasn’t trendy and was not known in Belgium. He was sure I was never going to find the secret ingredient of this cake. He was right, I never thought there would be carrot in a cake! I was impressed, it was so tasty and delicious. I thank my grandfather for making me discover this marvel!!
Since then, I eat carrot cake as much as I can because I am a big fan. It's still rare to find some in Belgium but it's happening. you can find some in the supermarket and some bakery.
The easiest way to eat a carrot cake is by doing it yourself. My friend already makes me a carrot cake once for my birthday. It was delish!

source

I hope you enjoy my blog article about one of my favourites, the carrot cake. Don’t hesitate to tell me If you try this recipe or another one and if you like the carrot cake. See you soon Steemians for another subject! Bye bye 😊

Sort:  

Well look very good. I like the cake if it is added seres over when eating it. This very tasty

it is verry good :)

You have good knowledge .l like cake

Nice stratification. I like the contrast of white and orange!

whata rich and flavorful dish this is. this looks tasty, creamy and a good cake. a bite of this awesoem cake would be an honour

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Just a suggestion......the finer you grate the carrot the better it blends into the batter...….

Ah :)) I must try this :))

definitely ! :)

Would love this for my birthday....!!!

it is a perfect birthday cake!

I am also a big fan of sugar, but learned how to control myself :) I used to eat cake everyday and now reduced to once per week.
I love carrot cake and this one looks really yummy and irresistible :)

Haha i am fasting you now :D
i am hungry now, and i wanna eat it,,,
thats looks "Yummiiiiii"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49