How to Feed a Carnivore: Building the Stonehenge of Steak

in #carnivore6 years ago

We're just over a week into our carnivore experiment and the feedback we've gotten back has been pretty interesting, a lot of it centered around, "Wait, no plants at all?!" This started as a simple recipe post to show how I've been making our steaks recently and has now blossomed into a bit of a tell all on what to feed a carnivore.

We recently heard about this on the Joe Rogan podcast and started considering it for ourselves. The results people were talking about were actually things we were looking to have improvement in everything from back and head pain to emotional stability. The science we were finding behind the diet made enough sense for us to try Shawn Baker's 30 day challenge. We're in the thick of the "part that sucks" that initial people where our bodies are adjusting to running on fat instead of sugar.

And it's occured to me that I've literally never gone this long without carbs, so I'm interested to see how things change over the next week. For now? Steak and more steak and my reasearch so far has led me to this pan searing method as my favorite way to make steak, for now.

Starts with steak, on a plate and salted on both sides. Let it sit for at least a half hour out of the fridge with the salt before cooking.

Heat a pan and add oil, I use avocado because of it's high smoke point.

Once it's hot, add the steaks.

Flip em after a minute...

Some people incorporate cured meats, like this serrano ham thats similar to prosciutto. I like to lightly pan fry them to make crispy meat chips.

And you just flip the steak, a minute or so on each side until it's as done as you want it. It takes 5-8 minutes for a medium rare steak.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

The Carnivore Experiment: Day 7
The Carnivore Experiment: Stonehenge of Steak
Carnivore Experiment: Day Five

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Learning Spanish Through Books: The History of the Mexican Revolution
Acapulco Adventures: Video Walk Around Rocky Island in Acapulco Bay
Jungle Shots: Rainy Morning Garden Shots with Rebel

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

I am a big steak lover and and believe me cutting out the carbs in your diet is one of the best things you can do for your health.

I'm excited to see how I feel in a week. All things considered, I don't feel that bad even now.

I'm in love with meat so I love this post :)). Keep up the good work!

Please don't be shy and take a peek on my delicious hamburgers!! PEACE!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

And it's occured to me that I've literally never gone this long without carbs, so I'm interested to see how things change over the next week.
It should be occurred instead of occured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46