1991 Miata with a garret turbo - Found an Old 4gb usb stick since I started posting - MY favorite car that I really miss...

in #car7 years ago

Just felt like posting it up here since I really miss the car and in case I ever lose this usb stick again I want there to be a memory of the car here.

1991 Mazda Miata turbo
Everything you see added to this car i did myself except for the lightweight flywheel
I have a list of things done somewhere in an old email and once found I will post it
Used it for track days and some street driving (barely street legal then, really doubt it now)

I know I overdid it with the rollbar, but kinda remember it was required for the trackdays. The hardtop was required too but thats not pictured here.

Enjoy the pics 91 miata 001.JPG91 miata 002.JPG91 miata 003.JPG

Sort:  

Still one of my favorite cars that I've own out of all 43. I had the same year but my was rough around the edges. I used a Hitachi turbo off my fc rx-7 turbo II. It took every bit of 3800 rpm to get it spooling but when boost hit boy did it take off. It would start spinning tires around 4500 rpm in 1-4 gear.

Yeah,once the turbos spooled up it was hard to keep her planted, I believe the tires on her in that picture were Kumho 225 wide s-slicks. Even with these she was slippery. 2bags of sand in the back helps. Try to balance her distribution more, smaller radiator, low as possible fluids up front, get rid of windshield washer fluid, get rid of the glass headlights, run her with a full tank.

Good idea, never thought of adding sand bags. I had the smallest BFG radial T/A you could get in a 14. 215-60-14 I believe. Too big for the car but it was a blast to rip around corners in boost just waiting for it to lose traction.

I recommend reading Top 4 Roads Every Passionate Driver Should Cruise Once! I think it will speak to you!

Nice! Only 3 out the 4 left to drive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79