The First time behind the wheel of a car, at the age of 10!

in #car4 years ago (edited)

Hello guys and welcome to Mattsbeamer.

So, the year was 1994, and I used to belong to the sea cadets called TS Spartan. It was a club where you learnt about becoming a sailor in the navy.

Obviously, it wasn’t my long term ambition, but it was a club which helped me interact with other children, learn special survival skills, and other helpful things. The reason I stay with this club, is because they had a marching band. I was the bass Drummer, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

You are probably thinking, how on earth does this, relate to the topic.

Well, being in the band meant that we got to go to band competitions, and we always won, but to fund this we had to do a special fate, to raise money for the club.

They had many special ways of making money, like selling cakes, biscuits and navy related things, but what I remember the most was the bottom half of the field being blocked off. I was very intrigued, and I noticed there was a brand new L reg 1993/1994 Vauxhall Corsa B, just sitting there.

nova.jpg

I know this is not a picture of a Corsa B. Its just that I don't have a photo of a Corsa B in my image folder. It is a Corsa A, or as we called them in England, the Vauxhall Nova.

It was finished in bright red, with hubcaps, the black bumpers and the driving school livery on it. When the fate, opened up to the public, a big queue formed at the bottom of the field. My mother told me, that I was able to drive this car around the field.
I was so excited.
I queued for a while, and finally it was my go. I jumped into this brand new car, which I had never seen in real life before, and I remember thinking it was a very smart little car, and did a great job replacing the Nova. Thou, now a days I prefer the Nova.
Anyway the driving instructor told me what to do, and I never stalled. He said he was very impressed considering it was my first time.
I got to go around the field in figure of 8s, and getting to drive quicker. He even taught me how to do handbrake turns,and how to do a wheel spin, which upset the organizers of the event.

It was such a fun experience, which I will never forget.

When was the first time you drove a car, and what was the car? Comment down below :D

Have a great day.

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 88. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Vauxhall is an interesting name. Did you know that name was imported to Russia, when Vauxhall was building the railways there... and it became the term "Train Station" in the Russian Language? Yep, if you ask for a "Vauxhall" in Russia, they'll point you to the train station! 😁

Congratulations on being featured by @bengy in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Oh Wow! I never knew that! Thankyou for teaching me something new. I shall test it on my wife tomorrow lol :D cheers!!

I was around 17 when I first got behind the wheel of a car... I remember it was my father teaching me, and it went pretty well... of course, there was a lot of intellectual understanding about what was going on (my father was a Mathematician, so understanding what and why you were doing something was quite important to him!). After that, I left to the other side of the country... and didn't be actual licence until about 10 years later... when my to-be wife taught me again!

I have featured you and this post for Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-week-88-entry

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-88-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Hey, first of all, I want to say thank you for featuring me! I am very surprised! :D

It must of been an interesting experience being taught by two very close family members. I am not sure my dad would be to kind if he taught me. lol.

Have a wonderful Christmas!!

My pleasure... let's just say that it was easier with my father than it was with my to be wife...

That actually made me laugh out loud! lol :D Happy Christmas.

Congratulations @mattsbeamer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

An amusing, reminiscing post that is very enjoyable. My dad thought he was really funny when he put on his motorcycle helmet for my first driving experience!

As with @bengy, it was a number of years until I actually got my license (partly because my father isn't an insistent teacher and I wasn't chomping at the bit to drive.) Soon, it will be my turn to teach...

I've driven in the UK too - so much different! And so much better instruction (and harder test.) I will always use the skills I picked up in England for my driving.

I found you because @bengy featured you for the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

I first got behind the wheel at 16, but my first car appeared at 19. I will never forget how long I have been saving up for my car. A lot of time has passed since that time, and I managed to change several cars. Now I have a Nissan Titan, which I like. I ordered a rear bumper for it at https://bumperstock.com/collections/fab-fours-black-steel-bumpers. I will have a black steel bumper to decorate my car.

Wow, that must have been quite an experience to get behind the wheel for the first time at the age of 10! I can only imagine the mix of excitement and nervousness that comes with that moment. It's interesting how early some people start learning about driving. I remember my first time, and it was a mix of exhilaration and fear. The feeling of control and freedom was unforgettable. Speaking of which, it's like when you first learn to drive a powerful vehicle like an F150. The experience of maneuvering such a robust machine, with its distinctive features like the F150 rear bumper, adds another layer to the memory. It's amazing how our first driving experiences shape our perception of the road and vehicles, creating lasting memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01