You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Struggle to Quit Cannabis

in #cannabis8 years ago (edited)

werd. First two weeks are hell, after that it's fairly easy. I have to avoid friends who smoke for a couple of months, because they tend to not want you to quit and will offer you a hit anytime they see you. I've been off (99.99%) weed since Nov 1, 2015. I did get drunk about a month ago and take a hit outside a bar with the guy I used to get it from, but was able to walk away and turn him down the next time he offered.

That's probably the hardest part is cutting off friends who smoke until you're certain you can be around weed without giving in to the temptation of ... "just for tonight". I've never been able to keep it to "just for tonight". Once I start up again, it's all day, every day. And that's what keeps me from doing the easy thing now and going and getting some. Because I know it will be 1-2 years before I'm able to stop for even a day or two after that. I'm an addict with everything and that's on me, not necessarily the thing I'm partaking in, it's just me. I like to do things I enjoy and I LOVE dro.

But, I tend to just stay inside and smoke and stay on the computer all day, which hinders my relationships with others who don't smoke. I was one of those smokers that didn't like to be around non-smokers when I was high. Most non-smokers had no clue I even smoked, unless I told them. Mainly because I wouldn't see them for a long time ... because I was always high.

That just got old for me after many years. I missed being around other people that didn't smoke and I hated having to hide from them or hide the fact that I've been smoking just to be near them for a few minutes. I'm really enjoying my break from weed and don't really have many urges to smoke again unless I get around it when my guards are down. So I try to avoid that.

The longest I have been able to stay away from smoking since I was 15 was 1 year and 3 months back in 2007. I threw a party at my house and someone dropped a bag of weed on the ground that my neighbor found and asked me about. I told him I had no clue who's it was but I would go throw it in the dumpster down the road. I drove down to the dumpster and proceeded to put it into my pocket and go back home and light one up in the shower, thinking my wife wouldn't notice it. She did, but I played it off. I thought I'd just quit the next day, but the next time I stopped smoking was 2015.

For that reason I realized I had a problem and I was the problem. It was affecting my relationship with my wife and kids and I needed to stop. It took me nearly 6 months to make it past a day or two before I would get pissed about something and just go get some more as an excuse to make me feel better. But as I said above, it gets much easier with time. After 3-4 days most of the urges to just do the easy thing and go get some were gone. Then it would creep up if something bad happened, but what I did to counteract that was start investing the money I would have normally spent on weed into something else that gained in value. That did the trick for me. Watching my money grow instead of watching it vaporize every 3 days was very helpful in aiding me to quit.

I was buying Bitcoin every 3 days, which was as often as I would have been buying weed. And now I'm a very happy man. That money would have been wasted just to make me think I was dealing with something that was not really a big issue at all and that I am today able to just blow off and move on. I realized I don't really have any big issues in life, I was just creating them to have an excuse to get high. And now I'm far better off economically because I was able to quit.

Sort:  

IKR! You would think it would be one of the easiest things to give up compared to my other struggles with soda and stuff like that. Thank you for sharing your story I manage to quit for a month last February. It's hard because I still have to buy for the Mrs. and after you smell the good smell of a quality strain so many times you just can't help but given in. I feel weak because I always prided myself on having control and the proper financial motivations to stop but yet here I am still smoking so much for control rite lol.

Maybe it's not the weed or alcohol that you're addicted to. It could just be your environment that causes your brain to fall back into the same pattern, thus causing you to go take a bong toke to cope with your troubles. I have a found a video that explains addiction in a new and easy way to understand.

For me personally, as soon as my environment changes then the ideas of what I want to be doing in that moment changes as well. When I go back home to visit my parents, the environment of my childhood home and being with my family doesn't let my brain "want" anything else. I have noticed that whenever I need to take a break from any form of addiction, whether it be gambling or toking up, the only step I need to take is to change my environment for a few days. The brain just ends up rewiring itself and it starts to become easier to change what you do throughout the day, this is especially true if you have been smoking for years everyday and it has become a pattern that your brain always follows. Just get out more or switch up your daily tasks!
Cheers, wish you goodluck!

@dailyfeed thank you for sharing your experience and I'll definitely have to watch the video later tonight. I definitely agree that a change of environment would be very healthy and we're planning a visit back to our home state very soon that may be my moment to finally kick the habit I'll will definitely incorporate that into my near plans for my future blog post thanks again.

You're very welcome and I wish you luck! This was a very interesting read and I would like to hear more about your story. Give us an update whenever you have the chance! Cheers mate!

Great video. Food for thought about addiction. I love having my paradigms challenged. Certainly explains some of my own behavior more reasonably.

Thanks, my perspective on addiction changed after discovering that video and how I tread others with addiction. Sometimes people just don't have that different environment that they can go to by themselves, so I try being as positive as I can around people with addictions to help them feel a bit more positive in the place that they are in.
Cheers!

Excellent information!

The only 'addiction' you have to cannabis is the relief it's bringing you for the issues you're dealing with. Once the issues are resolved, your so-called 'addiction' to cannabis will go away, there are no physical withdrawals that will make you crave it.

I highly recommend emofree.com for some great techniques on finding and dealing with the issues you may be dealing with.

Cannabis is phenomenal and I'm glad you're relieving your issues with it instead of physically addictive drugs. There's life after issues. :D

Keep it Clean!

I missed this comment back then and just came across it, great vid thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47