You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cannabis Garden # Two; 75% Of The Dirty Deed in Dirt is Done

in #cannabis7 years ago

Pollination doesn't happen for a while and you will be able to OBVIOUSLY tell when you have male plants as the sacks that you first see will grow into clusters of buds.

I am not sure what all you are growing for but the male plants are EXTREMELY useful when you let them grow to full potential.

If you only want female plants I would HIGHLY recommend cloning. it is simple, easy, and then you know you will always have a female plant.

My family grows a lot of things and we would treat cannabis the same if I grew it.

Good luck to your plants, and hope they turn out well.

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting @timbo. I'm currently growing and using this plant personally for its medical applications. My ultimate goal is to start breeding this herb specifically to treat different autoimmune diseases. In order to achieve this goal, I am studying and teaching myself about every aspect of this plant that I can. Once I become more proficient with my growing skills I plan to keep both male and female genetics on the go.
In this particular garden, I'm growing 6 different strains. I suspect that one of the plants that I have put into quarantine is a male and that the other one will turn out to be female. If this turns out to be the case, I may let them breed and continue experimenting. In a few days, I should know conclusively and then will be making a decision about whether or not I will try to undertake this. Cloning is the also on my list of things to master. I have tried to clone one so far and used too much rooting hormone, so back to the drawing board for my next attempt.

Sounds good to me, I would have to give the advice that males are harmless while they are small. Only when the pods are clusters and start to produce pollen do they become a threat to pollinating your females so it isn't necessary to separate them until you are sure. Don't worry, it will become EXTREMELY OBVIOUS a long time before they are a threat.

For cloning, I would recommend just taking clippings and hanging them in water, that is what we have seen the most success with and it is very simple. I am sure there are plenty of video tutorials on it and whatever hormone you are using may help but I prefer organic plants so it wouldn't be my first choice.

Either way, good luck in your adventure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57