This highlights gov't hypocrisy perfectly!

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)


Did You Hear?

Police Now Conducting Mouth Swab Checkpoints to Test Drivers for Marijuana

Read More about it here: http://bit.ly/2DLn02k

Video by The Free Thought Project


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

sounds like more interventions but at what cost and to whose benefit?

Legalize marijuana and end the failed Drug War!

I would wager that these mouth swabs came about as a result of legalization and are meant for use in states where it is legal. That is because I heard the asshole legislators in my state calling for such tests as a result of legalization.

This is a problem with legalization, before legalization if you were found with weed in the car it was a $100 civil fine, you didn't even actually have to pay it since the law didn't provide a penalty for non payment. But after legalization you will be charged with a criminal OUI and an "open container" criminal charge. Thanks legalization. I was at a hearing and the stupid legislators were all wringing their hands about how they were going to test drivers now that pot was legal and people were going to be smoking this stuff and driving, what a farce! What this means is that the cops will now once again be able to pull over and arrest anyone who is possession of pot while driving.

Remember most traffic laws are for vehicles which are driving for commercial use not traveling for personal use but we are dealing w cannon/contract law so its best to read and learb how your local laws and rec codes works. Cheers steem fam, knowledge is power 👊

@tftproject Well in all fairness the police wouldn't want anyone attempting to drive home way more carefully than they did if they were sober now would they! God forbid more motorist got home safely to see their families!
Oh actually I see your point! lol

Is your point that someone who is high is by definition a safer driver?

Though I dont agree with driving impaired, I woukd say that yes, someone high on Cannabis is a safer driver.

High/impaired? What's the actual difference here? Look, I am not anti-cannabis, but cannabis is a mind-altering substance. Driving under the influence is inherently dangerous. I accept that it is difficult to test for this - it isn't like alcohol in that sense - but that people are safer drivers is a naive myth.

I disagree. ask anyone who has smoked and done anything that requires focus. (MMA, archery, cooking, NFL, NBA, etc). You are far more alert and cautious. Try it if you dont believe. Use a simulator. I am not condoning it because it is illegal. But people are allowed to drive on Aderall, or Nuvigil because they apparently increase focus. Let's not be naive about the fact that there's a lack of research into the effects of cannabis on humans.

You seem to be assuming that I don't have an informed position on this! I can assure you I do.

You didn't answer my first question. What's the difference between being high, and being impaired? I actually saw an article about this whole thing yesterday, and as far as the police are concerned, "impaired" is the first three hours after smoking a spliff.

I do accept that one can be focussed when high, but alert? Are you kidding me? And are you really saying that the mind can't drift when a person is high? That a stoned individual cannot completely lose focus? How many times have you had one of those funny stoned conversations that go off on about 15 tangents, and have no idea where you started?

I am not sure that the artificial environment of a simulator is evidence that a high individual is a safe driver. Like I say, being high does allow focus - especially if you are aware you are being tested - but on your own, in a car, driving along? It's not the same.

I completely accept that a lot of work needs to be done here, and that testing for cannabis is not the same as testing for alcohol. I absolutely do not accept that driving whilst high is okay.

My argument isn't that being high isn't being impaired, because, it definitely is. So that answers your question. And I also said that I do not condone impaired driving.

I definitely believe your mind can drift when high. Does it drift more while driving high than not high? I dont know. I know for a fact I daydream while driving (completely sober) and I feel the difference is that if I am high, I feel more aware of my daydreaming. I also know that I am more cautious while high doing anything. And maybe that has something to do with illegality and being caught.

My biggest argument I suppose is that there needs to be more research done. Legalization in canada should allow that. Though there is an amount of alcohol that is allowed in your system and you can still drive. .05 in Alberta. There needs to be a limit for Cannabis.

You know, we have disagreed a lot here, but I actually get the impression we are on the same page.

I am little confused though, because you have suggested that driving whilst is okay (actually safer), but driver impaired isn't, and now that high equals impaired.

So I am not sure what you are really saying.

I absolutely agree that more research must be done. But drinking and smoking are inherently different. Having a beer or two is not the same as having a smoke. Getting high is pretty much instantaneous. Getting drunk isn't, and the process is different.

(Video) The Art of rolling a Blunt - How to roll and enjoy a Dutch Master - How to smoke a blunt - by Jose Arteaga https://d.tube/v/josearteaga/vayxzypj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45