A Cannabis Gardening Journey: The Discovery Of Foxtails

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Teaching myself how to cultivate the flowers of cannabis has been a steep learning curve, to say the least.

Just When I Think I’ve Got This Plant Figured Out, She Throws Me Another Puzzle To Solve...Just Like Any Woman Can.

(Don’t worry guys, I can freely acknowledge this without reprisal because I’m a woman. I know how we tick, and I can tell you, this plant is just as complicated with her unique sequencing of needs. Lol!)

As you have seen (if you’ve been following me for a bit) I really enjoy growing all different types of plants and flowers...not just cannabis.

Gardening skills are transferable, but by far, cannabis has been the trickiest (for me) to learn to grow with any proficiency.

As I Learn, I Will Share So That Others May Learn too.

That’s my goal.

Yeah, open soured and archieved on Steemit’s blockchain too, which I happen to think is super cool.

A8E10511-3895-4DB6-9D1C-F59F1E0C4BC8.jpeg

At this point, I am currently growing 6 different cannabis strains in an indoor garden.

All are hybrids.

All are in soil.

BE472F1E-288A-4EEB-9316-05CAD72DF5B3.jpeg

See What I See: Diversity

The leaves are so coated with resin, that they look glazed and shiny under the CMH lights.

(As you can see in the photo below.)

47152C13-86B5-44E5-B60B-739EBA1EB9D4.jpeg

In the next photo (below) you can see that I let this particular branch stretch too much. I shouldn’t have let this stem reach for the light as much as I did, and I should have taken different measures earlier on in this particular grow.

It’s a symptom of my inexperience, space constraints and plant genetics.

(I do have a few strains that are just tall plants.)

Irregardless, I shouldn’t have this much space between the flowers and I have already decided that I will be applying more super-cropping techniques in my next garden as a direct result.

I have faith that my cannabis gardening skills will continue to improve over time and with further practice. I will not give up.

Queens are worth it.

At least I am able to recognize areas of my growing skills that still require additional improvement.

DF54E309-EADE-4DA2-AA76-C50A2EC196D3.jpeg

What this particular garden has taught me is just how important the ambient temperature and humidity is.

F6F68495-F05F-4E80-A75C-6B1CA0FB3936.jpeg

I just learned about the phenomenon called fox-tailing thanks to @dajohns1420!

With some research, I have learned that foxtailing can occur when the plants get stressed within their growing environment.

Mostly if they get too hot near the end of their flowering stage. It can also be related to plant genetics.

Basically, the plants become stressed and grow more calyxes on top of each other. Foxtailing is either a result of an environmental stress load or its cause is genetic, a characteristic of specific strains.

In my particular case, I have been adjusting my lights all the way through this grow. As I understand it, the largest heat source in most indoor gardens is generated from the lights. I’m using Light Emitting Ceramic or CMH lights. They have been engineered to mimic the sun’s light spectrum and they do emit some radiant heat which the plants can feel on their leaves...as opposed to LED lights which don’t generally produce much heat.

E1EF826E-05C9-4CB4-A330-48CBD9713873.jpeg

I’ve grown this garden throughout the winter. The average temperature inside my grow room was 19 degrees Celsius.

Two weeks ago, the outside temperature spiked drastically to over 30 degrees Celsius and with this abnormal heat, came humidity.

This raised the inside temperature and humidity of my grow room too.

By the time I figured this out, the humidity inside the grow room was 73%! I have surmised that it was like that for about 12 hours before I was able to drop the humidity level back down to 50% by using a dehumidifier.

The results:

68202AB6-24FA-414E-83C4-0C193F213877.jpeg

Some of my plants decided to grow more calyxes. These are the sepals of a flower and they form a protective layer around a flower in bud. Notice the yellow hairs of this new growth. What is also note worthy is the damage on the tips of the sugar leaves. This is a result of nitrogen burn which (unfortunately) happened earlier on in the plants’ vegetative stage due to a gardening error on my part. :(

Needless to say, I was surprised by this additional production.

I’d never seen this before and neither had two different growers who physically came to see my garden, upon my invitation. Each of these growers have been growing for over 30 years and neither one could offer any explanation as to why my plants had decided to present this way.

It wasn’t until I showed a bud picture to @dajohns1420
and he instantly suspected foxtailing. This put me onto learning all about this phenomenon and I am forever grateful that he was willing to share his expertise with me...all the way from a different country and for free I might add.

Go Steemit Go!

So in case you missed the significance of that, there’s a good example of a “gifting community” and the positive potential of the Steemit blockchain in action.

Thank you so much @dajohns1420! If you haven’t checked out his blog, please do so. :)

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will always be growing something interesting in my gardens.

7AEB2C00-3D1B-42FF-8A7F-D39FD0027C81.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

The best thing you can do is spread your knowledge with the community , which you already do . I love seeing your posts and getting high jsut looking at the magical strains

Thanks so much for your encouragement @journeyoflife!
Every little bit helps as I learn what this plant likes and what its needs are. LOL!
Just like women...if any man reads this, that's the secret to understanding women. You need to know what their needs are and what they like. Once you understand these 2 things (yes, we are all different) than the women in your life will thrive. Secrets to a happy life, freely given.
And tothe women who might read this: As soon as you figure out what you like and what you need then you can communicate this to the other people in your life...otherwise life is a bloody crap shoot and a lot of precious time is wasted. Apply the Wisdom And Save The Heartache. LMFAO!

Great post.

I think for anyone that has grown any crops whatever they might be. Will just immediately get you when you say the following phrases.

"Its a journey" and "Respect the process"

Because we're all getting better at this, and for the most part none of us are pro's at this. Certainly not at the start.

We experienced fox-tailing this spring with some of our super silver haze plants, as we accidentally let our ladies veg for 3 weeks too long. (Issue with the timers). Essentially the button on the timer had them set to always on rather than 12/12...oops. This resulted in them growing too close to the lights.

It was something we had not dealt with before, and were fortunate the winter and spring were so cold, so fox-tailing and overall heat stress was somewhat mitigated by the weather.

That is about the only time you will hear me rejoice over an elongated winter and nearly non-existent spring :)

Anyways this post struck a chord with us and our grow. Because try and you might to control all factors, stuff is just going to happen. And hopefully like with all event in life you, learn from it and roll on.

And hopefully enjoy that journey!

Nice to meet you @massmedicinals!!!! Welcome!
Right on!I totally agree. Life just happens! Then, it's up to us to decide how to roll with it...or not. LOL!
I'm really enjoying "my learn to grow cannabis" experience. It's exceptionally rewarding to produce your own medicine from seed to oil. I've only been growing for a year and this is my 4th garden to date...still green LOL! but having fun and trying not to be too serious....most people are happy when they kill a weed and here I am trying to learn how to clone them and keep them alive inside when it's -30 outside. It's a crazy life, I tell ya. ;)

Thanks for the kind welcome, and nice to chat with a fellow grower.

Wow 4 crops in a single year. That's impressive. We're operating on a much slower rotation. Are you doing Autos? We don't.

This year our first crop was a 50/50 mix of pure sativa & pure indica plants. Second crop was solely pure sativas.

Our veg timeframe was 3 months, and then another 3 months for flower. The second round because we cloned moved a little faster. But still ended up being only 2 crops in 12 months.

So yea, 4 harvests in a single year is quite impressive. Well done!

It's an experience, every time you grow another crop. :)

The spike in humidity may have helped more with the heat than you think. Transpiration in cannabis is regulated mostly through efforts to hydrate or cool.

When heat spikes, the plants will be using transpiration to stay cool. When humidity is low during a heat spike, the plant can become stressed by the additional transpiration needed to stay hydrated.

You flower in low temps like I do which, when combined with low RH, tends to produce more trichome dense and terpene rich cannabis. The concern at these low temps is actually low evaporation rates in the soil. I would hope your soil is at least 70F, with a better range being 72-75F.

There's a lot of activity in soil which is reduced by low temps. Hydro you can run at 69F max, without inviting issues. Soil likes a bit more. ;)

Keep BEING Awesome! :D

BTW, I Dropped the Price of My Book

because I also reduced the content. LOL It's more compact and concise now, along with a new cover. :)
Secrets to Growing Trichome Dense Cannabis

Currently fighting Amazon for allowing me to advertise in their sponsored section, like the other cannabis growing books which are using the service. My plain jane, no glory, ads are getting rejected. shrug

Transpiration! OMG! @thecleangame, now I have a whole new process to understand...
We had an exceptionally cold winter this year and I've spent most of the life cycle of this garden trying to keep it warm enough. LMAO!
Then we get this freak of a hot, humid spell and I wasn't prepared for 30+ C or 90+ F...
Short lived though...this morning's temperature was 12 degree Celsius outside (53.6 degrees F) Cold!
Currently there is not a single female under my roof that's particularly happy LOL!
We all just have to make it a few more days. ;)
So, I use new soil in every garden and I am buying a growing (soil) medium that is inert.
The only things that I am adding to the soil is from the nutrient-line that I am using.
I will look into transpiration and measuring the temperature of my soil, next. Thanks for these tips.
That's crazy about Amazon...not surprising as corporations try to follow directives about slowing down the spread of information. I have written a book too, but haven't put it on Amazon because I didn't think it would be worth the heartache...I have friends who have written books on various topics (uncannabis-related) with no sales to speak of...so I'm sitting on mine and will use it, if/when I start giving presentations.
Thanks for your response @thecleangame! I really appreciate it.

Amazing what chains of thought a few sentences can spark. :) You have a wonderful energy about your grow room and it's great to see.

Amazon can't stop me from ordering copies and selling them myself, I will succeed! lol Book sales take time, so we're creating an online presence across the social media networks. The next 6 months should be interesting. :)

Once I have a few thousand followers on multiple sites (aaaaand book sales LOL), getting a book deal will be significantly easier. :D

Cannabis plants are happiest between 22-24 degrees Celzius yet they can handle temperatures up to 30-31 degrees for shorter period of time. Depending on strain. I've got foxtailed plants once. Improved exhaust and since then no problems.
You struggle with high temp and humidity which means there's not enough air flow.
How big are intake/exhaust?? And what's your room temperature??

Hi realkiki85!
Thanks so much for commenting. I really appreciate it.
6 inch fan. and 19-20 degrees Celsius (during the winter, which is when I grew this particular garden).
We're just at the tail end of Spring. This morning it was 12 degrees C outside.
About 2 weeks ago we experienced 2, very hot humid days. The outside temperature was 33 degrees by mid-afternoon. We all basically went from wearing heavy coats to shorts and t-shirts, overnight.
Then, back to really cool. I think my plants were stressed by this sudden fluctuation in temperature because I didn't put A/C on...I just didn't really think that I needed to...until I checked the humidity levels and realized what was happening.

I wonder if I could grow cannabis like you when it's legal here. I have not really grown anything other than some veggie plants over the years. I know who to ask now when ever I finally do get the grow marijuana.

Hi @bigblueleadsled!
You won't have too many problems...everyone always has some. It's just part of growing this plant, it seems. I've made a lot of mistakes but I've learned... I think it's fair to say ( that in the case of cannabis) your mistakes are your education. You just kind of / have to make them in order to learn and become proficient. I am still learning and have only been growing a year. Yeah 1 year!

@rebeccaryan
Way too much for me to cover in detail about your post.
Yes, we will learn new things as we go along in life.
Please learn all you can. I am lazy. Ha
I want to grow some cannabis myself in the next year or two.
It seems to be such a fun thing to do.
I know I would have some followers then. Ha
I haven't been out to the free choice states yet.
Maybe they have something there that would be like an alcohol bar in most states. Where the participants get together to discuss cannabis and other life matters.
I hope to find out.
Thank you

Francis

Let's hope that you will find a coffee-shop style establishment (wherever you decide to hang your hat) that does offer the abilitiy to enjoy the herb in its different forms...along with the company of others.
So much fun @francisk! I'm excited for you. ;)

Well at least the Fox-Tails Look cool.

LOL! Right on @a1-shroom-spores! I thought they looked pretty wild too!
Never seen anything like it before...grew some shrooms right beside them and thought "Holy F$%^! Did I cross weed and fungi somehow?" Hahaha! Too much fun.

Good work. For the best results make sure to test and treat the soil for nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium and keep an eye on pH. Strong roots = big buds.

Thanks for commenting @thedonfreeman!
I use new soil with each new garden. I'm buying a growing medium that is inert and I am measuring the PH of my water and adjusting it as needed. I am also using a commercially prepared nutrient line that requires the gardener (me) to measure my feeds accurately which is why I burnt these plants with nitrogen...I simply made an error in measuring and decided not to try and fix it because I didn't want to make it worse due to my inexperience. I've been growing for 1 year and this is my 4th garden to date. ;)

Happy days. I wish you success. You're on the right path. Respect.

Everything looks so great. Do you produce cannabis oil as well?

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62