Replanting Cannabis in 100 Gallon Pots

in #cannabis6 years ago

Last evening, my friend's outdoor grow is getting too large to fit in the existing pots.

IMG_5694.jpg

IMG_5713.jpg

They are being transplanted into these 100 gallon pots. I have learned that the plant growth will be limited to the root size. This is why the pots need to be so large. This is the first time I've seen pots like this. They are made from a thick felt material instead of a hard plastic. The baby pools are used to allow the pots to be moved by sliding them. There is a massive amount of soil in those pots and it takes 2 people just to move the pots on flat ground. When the plants were pulled from the existing pots, the roots were just barely reaching the sides. This is just the right time to transplant. My friend has indoor hydroponic grow as well. Even there it is important to have large pots. When they switched to the larger hydroponic pots, they noticed that the plants were outgrowing their room. They had to switch to a shorter vegetative stage to prevent their plants from getting too large. That is a good thing as that speeds up their turn-around time. The cycle on the outdoor grow however is dictated by the season. In this particular outdoor grow, my friend was able to get a jump start on the season by growing them indoor while the weather was still cold.

Day 4.jpg

This morning, I am going to experiment with some crude extraction equipment. I will take some pictures and give you details in the next post.

Remember to follow and I will see you soon with a new post.

Sort:  

Interesting technique there with the pool. Those are some beautiful, lush trees.

Yes. They are mighty nice :)

I can't take credit, I was just invited to help get the extraction process underway. The farm owners know what they are doing.

Awesome! Including this in. My digest! And love it that's some amazing herbage! And smart move indoors with making the veg time and pot size smaller.

Killer work and I'd love your support for growing the Cannabis community. Any extra votes on my curation trail would be awesome. Really like finding newer people and rewarding amazing Cannabis content. Besides making a community that is valued.

Come. Join the discord room!
https://discord.gg/r73S2zH

Thank you @ganjafarmer. I will visit the invite.

Sweet! Can't wait! And nice work!

I'm still following your updates on Tetrahydrocannabinol, THC..
Nice post..

Thank you. I will do my best to satisfy.

It's awesome that they fit in a kiddy pool, ive deffinitely never seen a grow bag that big.

It is interesting that they will go to that extent to optimize growth. It is an enormous amount of high dollar soil.

Nice.. plants .. Great idea, I will also plant marijuana like this to smoke...

I hope that others can learn from my blog. I actually don't use it. It is crazy. Everyone here uses it, it is just not for me.

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Nice looking crop, not using big enough containers for the roots is something too many rookie growers try to get away with

It was a surprise for me. I hope folks can get some helpful information from this blog. Big pots are definitely a good thing when large plants are wanted.

Why not put them in the ground?

It is all about yield. There is a State imposed limit of 12 flowering plants. The key is to optimize them. Getting large pots and quality soil is part of that equation.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45