You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Struggle to Quit Cannabis

in #cannabis8 years ago

@dking7334
About eight years ago, I found myself in a legal predicament that forced me to temporarily cease from my daily enjoyment of cannabis intake. I found it very difficult to remain in the same environments in which I had found myself hanging around previously. I instead removed myself from certain spheres of influence that would be hard for me to cope with and my education became my number one priority.

Unfortunately, I turned to alcohol for coping with the loss of my of a drug of choice. This in turn actually led to other negative behaviors that led to more legal issues, etc. I still to this day drink more than I ever did before my legal encounters.

I was fortunately able to keep myself out of enough trouble to avoid becoming victim to the vicious probation backed inmate cycles that exist in our current justice system. I cannot say how grateful I am to have had an outstanding support system of family and friends during those times.

Six years after the legal incident, I graduated from college. After being told that my life would be ruined forever by the decisions of my past, I had personally achieved a life goal that proved I was determined to not let that statement become true.

Looking back on the situation that I was dealt, I now know that this facade that was painted of me by the justice system was never true at all; I consistently overcame the hurdles placed before me in order to become a better citizen in society.

Today, I still partake in the good things in life but I try not to let drugs or alcohol take complete control of the wheel.

Sort:  

@lsully311 I do enjoy partaking myself but unfortunately I feel its reached a point where eventually something will happen and my livelihood will remain in the balance and I need to be ready for such an event I would like to keep smoking but its just too expensive maybe once day I will pick it back up once I'm financially stable enough to support it. Thank you for sharing your experience and I definitely am a firm believer in freedom and if it makes you happy and you don't hurt anyone doing your vice then happily do it life is about enjoyment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47