Catalonia Legalizes Cannabis!

in #cannabis7 years ago


catalonia.png

I just checked the news a few minutes ago and was greeted by just about the best headline I could hope for: "Catalonia legalizes Cannabis".

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/catalonia-marijuana-legalise-cannabis-consumption-distribution-spain-region-petition-a7816981.html

Later this month, my family and I have a one way ticket to Catalonia - we have bought a house there as we fell in love with the area and decided to make the move. You can imagine my delight when me, a SteemIt user with the handle 'info420', read that headline.

I'm only just getting started with this handle and with a pending move, I haven't had the time to dedicate to this account. In 3 weeks from now I will be there - so I will post all about my experiences in Catalonia. I'm already a member of a couple of associations in Barcelona - it's going to be fascinating to be part of all this as it unfolds. Wooohoooo!

If you are interested in having regular marijuana related posts, then please follow and upvote. I can be your eyes and ears on the ground in Catalonia....

related links:

https://sherbrooktimes.com/spain-in-catalonia-the-cannabis-clubs-now-legal/3126

https://www.marijuana.com/news/2017/06/catalonia-spain-legalizes-cannabis-cultivation-and-consumption/

http://www.talkingdrugs.org/catalonia-legalises-cannabis-cultivation-and-distribution

Sort:  

do you know if this will be implemented across the whole of Spain?

The different regions have different policies - the clubs in Malaga were authorised by Junta de Andalusia - and the local police forces have different tolerances. The national government is bound to speak against what is happening in Catalonia.
My take on it is that Catalonia is the Colorado of Spain, and surely it is inevitable that other regions will also follow suit. Marbella was starting to crack down on clubs as I was leaving Malaga - but that is an already very well established tourist area so it might be that the authorities there don't want it to change because it does attact high net worth individuals - and those people might stop returning if pot culture really set in....

thanks for the info... I'm moving to Andalusia soon so I let you know what it's like in the local area

In Malaga province it was pretty easy going except for Malaga City. I've heard places like Estapona and Nerja are well catered for and they are both smaller towns, so I am expecting to hear good things from you :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by toonpunk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

it was legal there before, but only if you belonged to a type of.....odd membership club, its good to hear that its legal everywhere now, it always helps to decrease crime in places where drugs are legal

I am a member of a couple of these clubs. They were still underground. Officially you needed an introduction from a member. And you still had to be weary about the police especially when you left the premises. One club insisted you put your stash in your underwear. It's good that consumers don't need to be in fear of that - but for many it won't really make any difference because as you say, there are already members clubs. I expect this will drive up quality and hopefully bring down the price in places like Barcelona where it is currently quite expensive compared to other areas of Spain.

I felt like it was already legalised,when i was there :). There was nothing better than walking in my Cannabis club and smoke a jay after a hard working day :).

I am so happy for the cannabis community there! I know they will create something great! :) The quality is already top!

For sure - I think the clubs themselves are really great but the quality and variety has been amazing. Amsterdam used to be the goto place for smokers in Europe. But I think that place has been Barcelona for some time now.

If you haven't read it, I did this short review of my favourite of the strains I smoked there last weekend :-) https://steemit.com/cannabis/@info420/a-brief-review-of-grand-daddy-purple

I'm just getting started at this, but my intention is to write lots of strain reviews. And now I am sure it will be easier to find clubs outside of Barcelona so I am going to try and visit and review clubs all over Catalonia.

I agree with you, Amsterdam used to be the place,but tourists destroyed the quality in my opinion, too much greed and low quality shops... I read your review and you made me want to try this purple papi :) .

I am a member of the Choko club, check it out if you havent heard about it. They called their ganja farmer Messi,cause the quality was world class! They are known for Sativa strains and have an Art gallery in the club. Awesome atmosphere and people!

Will follow you and i am already jealous at your work :P.

You can check my feed,as i want to use Steemit to fund my bong idea. :)

Cant wait to read your reviews!

The wooden bong looks awesome :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40