I'm becoming semi-anti-mite!

in #cannabis5 years ago

They MIGHT be my Mighty White Mite Warriors. (Or, they could just be invading my homeland.)

mite4.jpg

Heroes or Villains?

After "waiting and seeing" for a couple weeks, I posted here asking for information and opinions about these little uninvited settlers. I received 3 "undecided" responses, and one "good" response, leaving me still uncertain how to proceed.

So, I weighed the pros and cons:

Pros


  • there are NO webs anywhere
  • no spots on leaves
  • nothing visible on underside of leaves
  • plants appear very happy
  • no significant increase in numbers

  • Cons


  • they're walking around on the plants!
  • they might be biting stems, like aphids?
  • are they planning a trichome ambush?

  • Here's another attempted closeup...

This time, it's walking on a glass bead:

mite1.png

By my estimation they're less than 1mm long, full grown. There do appear to be wispy white appendages.

mite2.jpg

mite3.jpg

Pretty gross, right? But like I said, the plants appear healthy:

overall.JPG

In fact, I'd like to show you the top of a Northern Lights seedling I snipped the other day:

plants1.JPG

2 gorgeous healthy new tops! They start just above the 5th true node. Now, check out this beauty:

plants2.JPG

At 6 weeks old (from seed), these plants are doing fine. If they're losing any juice to their invaders, it's not enough to make a noticeable difference. (Yet?)

And Steem OG?

All 3 are doing well, despite the unidentified white settlers. I used the FIM ("fuck, I missed!") method on one of them, resulting in 2 new tops, along with strange bonus growth from the snip:

plants3.JPG

Here's another view of that interesting top:

plants4.JPG

Summary

The plants are happy, but could be getting abused by these friendly-appearing newcomers. They're not spinning webs, which is always a relief when we encounter animal wildlife in our gardens. Their numbers don't seem to be getting out of hand, but to be honest I'd rather they'd never shown up.

And with all that said, remember, this is a 100% natural garden that uses only soil, light, water, and air to grow cannabis. If there's a solution, it will have to consider that. I don't want to have to resort to something drastic, like yanking them and washing their roots so they can go into fresh soil and new pots. Or worse, culling and starting over. Ugh.

In my previous post, I said I wasn't necessarily anti-mite. After further research, and consideration, I think you now understand why I'm becoming...

Semi-anti-mite.

Your input welcome. Thank you.
DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

Pretty good photos for a 12-year-old digital camera!
Upvoted :))

squish

excelente post amigo @drutter te invito a visitar mi blog

:D Yes, but if only we knew more about the mites and their intentions. Are they here to plunder, or coexist?!

Your plants are looking great! Did you get the stuff?

Thanks!
If you mean the diat. earth, not yet. Broke as a joke (I got that from you) this week. I'd really love to hear from somebody who has dealt with these buggers before, but maybe nobody on Steemit qualifies. I might have to be the guinea pig... perhaps we will find out soon if I'm dealing with predators or helpers.

I’ll resteem this with canna to get some more eyes on it

Sweetness, danks bro.

Congratulations @drutter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

10000 upvotes, cool! :)

All mites must die!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully we can get some more eyes on this.

DE is very inexpensive - make sure you get food grade!! Very important - you do not want the kind for swimming pools. Any feed store should carry it, you can also purchase on eBay. Meanwhile, soapy water in a spray bottle should get them away for the moment. You want to get rid of them before they lay eggs. The larve will do the most damage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87