Germinating my new crop: Northern Lights #4 and Steem OG!

in #cannabis6 years ago

Welcome back to 'normal' here on the STEEM blockchain, everybody!

newcrop1.jpg

Life goes on. Seeds are eager to grow, and my growing space is now fully empty, as I finished harvesting and drying my Pink Kush plants today. They're now curing in a glass jar, being aired once a day as their sugars break down and terpenes mature. (@MediKatie and I will use them to make oil and treat her cancer - stay tuned!)

With that cleaned up and tucked away, my green thumb is itching something fierce! So without further ado, the seeds have been chosen to start the next crop. As mentioned here, they are:

Northern Lights (phenotype #4) (feminized) - I will germinate 6 seeds, with the hope that 5 will sprout, and 4 will make it to the flip.

Steem OG (f1 hybrid) - I will germinate 5 seeds, with the hope that 4 will sprout, 2 will be female, and at least 1 will make it to the flip.

newcrop2.jpg

Shout to @jonyoudyer who came up with the strain, and sent me these seeds! I'm going pheno-huntin'! This represents a rebirth of the STEEM blockchain (after HardFork20 messed up a lot of things the other day) ;D

Crop 2

This is "crop 2" in this location, with this method. It's definitely not my second crop, however! I'll share those stories another time. Until then... what are the details for this crop?

My plan is to end up with 4 strong adult females going into the flip to flower (3 NL, 1 Steem). They'll flower through the holidays and be harvested early in the new year (so I can get started on my main spring-summer crop).

I will once again be growing "morganically", which is more-than-organically, meaning the plants are never given any fertilizers, pesticides, fungicides, or anything they would not encounter in the wild. Nothing but water and air!

The organic growing medium will be a base of either coconut coir or sphagnum moss (undecided as yet) and some worm castings for trace minerals.

Budget will again be near-zero, but I do intend to get a small fan and a little extra light wattage very soon.

Legal status?

As before, completely illegal. Even with "legalization" starting in a couple weeks, what I'm doing won't be legal. Almost nobody is actually going to be able to grow, which is why I'm doing it, and publishing it on the blockchain. Civil disobedience!

newcrop3.jpg

Aren't they sweet? Seeds are fully-formed baby plants, and they're alive - just in a suspended state of growth! A seed is already the whole plant, and simply needs to sense the right conditions. Once it does, it unfolds, breaking free of the outer shell, starts drinking through its roots, and photosynthesizing with its green shoot.

A seed is a plant - curled up and sleeping in a shell. A seed is neither a beginning nor an end, it's simply one stage in the ... process ... of this glorious plant species, as it continues the unbroken genetic line.

Here's to the process!

DRutter

PS: If you want to grow on the blockchain along with me, but can't get good seeds, email me a North American shipping address: drutter at protonmail dot com. I'll put some in an envelope and cover the postage. Include your Steemit name so I can watch you grow them!

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

You've been poppin' beans again ;)
Full #steem ahead to the Northern Lights!

Love it! Steem OG is already a hit, guaranteed! It will be exciting to watch it grow. Just like the blockchain over the next few months <3

Send me some of that steem og to review! hehe
Good luck on the new girls!

Thanks man. They're poppin quickly... going into some fluffy soil today.

buen post amigo saludos y agradecida de usted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39