The War On Cannabis Edibles

in #cannabis8 years ago (edited)

The cannabis market in Colorado has drastically grown over the last few years and along with that, it's reported that there has been an increase in accidental ingestion cases, where people have unknowingly ingested cannabis-infused treats.

A number of individuals have actually taken their children to the emergency room because of the accidental ingestion. And because of the up-tick in such occurrences, Colorado lawmakers are now scrambling to regulate the edibles in the state.

The bright solution that they have introduced is enforcing that cannabis edibles in the state be made to include a warning label. And this comes into effect starting Oct 1st of this year.

Doctors in the state claim that some children have actually been admitted t o the hospital who have accidentally ingested so much cannabis that they needed to be placed on a ventilator system. And that is what they are hoping will stop happening now that they've introduced the trusty warning label regulation.

According to data from the Rocky Mountain Poison & Drug Center it's estimated that dozens of children under the age of 18 years old accidentally ingested cannabis products. On 4/20 hospitals also saw an increase in visits from people who ate too many cannabis edibles and ended-up heading to the hospital because it prompted them to fear that they needed medical attention.

Colorado has other restrictions on their edibles as well, like they can't be over 10 milligrams of THC, and it is required that they be marketed in child-resistant packaging; along with the necessary warning label.

source:
http://www.thecannabist.co/2016/09/29/marijuana-edibles-colorado-thc-symbol/64093/

Sort:  

excellent view congratulations

Because people can't possibly be responsible for themselves; daddy govt needs to step in and take care of you, protect you from all the scaries and meanies.

I don't like burdensome, officious oversight either, BUTT there must be an equitable mid-ground. I mean, who wants squirrel sphincters instead of pasta in their Chicken Noodle O's ...

Informative post, thanks. I like your image selection - how did you get the center tag in there?

when i edit it, i put [center] write some stuff or put link here for image [/center]

^^^^ instead of using [ ]'s you replace those with < >
but i had to use the [ ] to show you otherwise it wouldn't have come up lol

Wow, I had no idea I could use straight HTML! I've been sticking to the mark down. Thanks, @doitvoluntarily

They will regulate this but won't deal with the junk food advertising for children, where they use cartoons and bright colors to get the kids attention, to where they place the items at eye range for a child's size to get their attention every time.

Having said that, people should be made aware of the dangers of leaving that stuff lying around. How about someone grabs one of them lollis and gets in their car? I can't imagine the panic when it starts to hit them while driving.

Respect edibles. I am a seasoned consumer and the first time I tried one I seriously thought I was going to need medical attention too, haha. I thought my spirit was going to leave my body, didn't want to go to sleep because I was afraid my spirit would leave my body and not return. Powerful stuff!

"because it prompted them to fear that they needed medical attention"
Heh, getting the paranoid from the lollipop?

OTOH, government intrusion in my life makes me fear that I need emancipation. Maybe we can put colors on intrusion so we can avoid it.

If a kid is going to read the warning label before he ingests the edibles, I would imagine he's smart enough to make the correct decision. This still puts a huge question in my mind, " Why aren't the parents more in tune with their kids atmosphere".

I was in Colorado about 8 months ago and the max THC per piece was 10mg (recreational) . Patients with medical cards had access to higher concentrates of edibles though, not to mention food comes in many sizes/pieces.

Funny, as an individual with "poor impulse control," ;-) I figure that most anyone eating candy that is not theirs, regardless of age, rarely stops to read, let alone look at, the label for any other reason than to tear it off.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62622.21
ETH 3446.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50