Breaking Through the Paranoia of Smoking Weed

in #cannabis7 years ago

It may be the single most heard response from non-blazers who are asked if they smoke....'It makes me feel paranoid'

This response destroys me inside. As someone who smokes all day, every day for 20 years, I understand what they are encountering but I also see what they are missing out on by rejecting cannabis indefinitely.

Here are some things to think about with regard to these 'paranoid' sensations.

(credit: melmagazine.com)

Marijuana heightens your senses.....all of them, and it does it quickly.

It is also known for containing empathetic qualities and puts you more in tune with your surroundings.

This can be extremely overwhelming for new and old smokers alike, as a rush of more intense feelings come from all of your senses. It can take a few minutes for your brain to adjust to the intensity. As your brain is making sense of that, your body starts to adjust as well.

(credit: shutterstock.com)

If you take any drug, prescribed or illicit, your body goes through a period of identifying it, figuring out what to do with it and then spreading it around evenly throughout your body. Also known as a transition, as your body adapts to the new chemicals.

This transition is not necessarily smooth, and every person will experience different transitions with the same drug. Once your body gets situated with the new ingredient, and deems it safe, you will feel a wave of euphoria come over you. That is when your journey really begins!

Now that you understand what your body was going through, give it another try knowing you are just one transition away from an amazing afternoon!

(credit: transformational-coaching.org)

steem signoff.gif

Sort:  

Great post! You are entirely correct that anyone who used the reason that it made them paranoid should give weed another chance. Also maybe the changing laws and acceptance of marijuana will help relieve the paranoia

We are headed in the right direction, however slowly that may be.

Also have mold issues that can cause paranoia. Not to mention that the police state nannies are having prohibition and kidnapping people.

Interesting about the mold, I did not know that!
Police state paranoia is the worst!!

Yep. Besides any other adulterated contamination...

Hey man, thanks a lot for this article. As someone who has budtended for 3 years in the industry, and a paranoiac when it was more illegal when I was a teen, I have personally helped others carefully ease into it with fairly good results. Most customers who struggle with this are usually a generation or two older than me, so aged 40 and upwards, and this is usually directly related to the legal stigma that still exists in their psyche - the last time lots of them smoked was when they were a teenager and getting caught had much worse consequences than today.
However, I have seen lots of my customers overcome this. I try to find the best strain that will put them at ease and i encourage them to have a proper setting that is conducive to a nice trip. Usually that is an Indica leaning hybrid, but it can vary. Usually that generation was smoking Thai or Mexican , low THC sativa, so a much smaller dose of a hybrid seems to have decent results. Also reminding them every time they come in of the health benefits that it has, that they arent a criminal, they aren't going to get in any trouble,

For the more extreme cases, I usually recommend CBD before anything with THC and then I ease them into a 50/50 chocolate bar, just some nibbles before bed, then before ya know it theyre smokin doobies down the block with their friends :P

Yeah CBD is a good starter to lay the foundation! Also full of medical goodness.

Thanks for a great response!!

Being as I'm a lifelong cannabis consumer, I only get a small feeling of paranoia after I haven't partaken in awhile. But I do remember intense feelings like that in the early days.

The best way I can express what happens (only my opinion based on experience) is that all of your psychological baggage (anxiety, fears, etc.) seem to be enhanced when you get high. It doesn't last very long and once the bullcrap is flushed from your psyche you just feel relaxed.

The best thing for a newbie to do is to be with someone who is an experienced consumer and you completely trust. This is especially true for edibles because they take longer to "kick in" and seem to be a bit more intense and lasts longer. The experienced consumer can talk with you and tell you "no worries", just relax. Oh, and tell you jokes or watch something funny. Once you start laughing at even the stupidest things, the edge is taken completely off and you can enjoy the high!

Cannabis can definitely open up some buried internal boxes, and probably part of the reason it is also healthy for your psyche.

When colorado first had legalization, the only cannabis related death was from a tourist having a 6 dose cookie . He had never consumed cannabis before, and had some sort of break and jumped off the balcony of his hotel room. The dispensary did tell him to only have a sixth of the cookie to start, so yes edibles arent the smartest to start with unless its microdose like 5mg. Now the good thing with edibles that are 50/50 THC/CBD is the CBD generally reduces some of the anxiety and also counteracts some of the psychoactive effects of the THC, hence why thats the only way I would suggest to start with edibles if one is a noob.

Love this article! What is your opinion on this: I have a lot of chronic pain and whenever I smoke it makes me more in tune with my body and I actually feel my pain more intensely. It makes me nauseous sometimes from all the pain I feel. I have found some strains to be alright as long as I barely smoke any, but if I take in too much, I hurt bad. I am living here in California and i’m going to be experimenting with edibles now. Cbd oils do absolutely nothing for me but give me a migraine because of the smell and taste lol.

I would recommend taking some high ratio cbd/thc edibles. Something like 50/1 (about 98% CBD and 2% THC).

The CBD has the bulk of the medicinal benefits and no psychoactive properties, so you will not feel high. The 2% THC will likely be low enough where you do not really feel anything, but it creates a canopy effect with the CBD and intensifies the medical properties in a positive direction.

You will not likely notice much effect short term, but after a few weeks to a few months, you should notice some improvements.

Indica is usually prescribed for pain, but it is also can cause anxiety.

Good luck in your journey!

Thank you so much for the advice! I’m going to screenshot this for later experimentation :)

Interesting research and presentation.

Also wanted to say Happy Valentine's Day and

Thank You for following me.

Wont-You-Be-My-Valentine.jpg

Thank you! Happy Valentine's day to you as well!

Nicley explained. I'm a long time user and had experienced paranoia while high, but I never let it stop me from enjoying cannabis.

Thank you! Nothing worth having is supposed to be easy......guess that applies with managing marijuana highs as well. :-)

I think any drug will amplify how one is already feeling, so a paranoid person will get more para but surely cannabis helps relieve anxiety and boost confidence.

This post has received a 10.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gank.

Following gank! Thanks for helping people!

The mask is off! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46