Growing Morels In Your Garden! {Day 1}steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Growing morels is no picnic.
Several years ago it was unclear if morels could
be cultivated at all outside of their delicate home
in the burn areas around pine forests and peat moss.IMG_8723[1].JPG
Recently: Certain mushroom growing wizards have
managed to grow these rare and tasty treats in their
own backyards and front lawns: Mostly via spreading
spores. With this strain you sort of have to "play God."
You cannot just spread some alder chips and call it good.
You must mimic the EXACT environment they normally grow in.
IMG_8722[1].JPG
I live right down the hill from several large patches of morels;
and yet i still have trouble growing them. Last Spring was attempt #1
Nothing sprouted: Despite using both Spores AND mycelium!
This year: I am stepping things up. I am planting as many trees:
Bushes and Mosses etc as i can from the local ecosystem. Also;
I will be taking careful notes: Such as the following: Here we go!

I've planted one pine tree so far.
I believe pine trees are as important to the mushroom
as dead pine trees and pine ash. I will probably end up planting
multiple pine trees. This one is very healthy and will grow for years.
IMG_8731[1].JPG
Here is my collection of burnt pine branches and burnt pine needles.
This is ingredient #1 folks! You cant grow without this. In the wild you
look for piles like this to turn over carefully for morel patches.
IMG_8730[1].JPG
Here You can see: Peat Moss, Wild sprouts, wild wash. nettles
and an unknown bush that grows prevalently around the morels.
IMG_8725[1].JPG
The FINAL ingredient so far is of course: MORELS!
I replanted several Morels into the ground and sprayed
some Morel spore prints: {which i soaked in water for 20 min.}

That's it so far folks! Email me if you need any Morel spore prints!
[email protected] Thanks for reading!

Please Re-Steem, Upvote and Subscribe!

Part 2 : https://steemit.com/cannabis/@a1-shroom-spores/growing-morels-in-your-garden-day-3

Sort:  

This is amazing! I remember learning in school that morels could not be grown, but this turns out to be untrue just like many other things I was taught in school. Good luck this year. I hope your hard work pays off because morels are delicious. I look forward to seeing your results.

Saying something is impossible is so arrogant lol.
Thanks for the good luck!

That’s cool as hell! Some great thinking you got going on, this should be fun to watch👍

Thank you for reading! I've always wanted to create a steemit series!
I promise it will just get more interesting from here!

You just planted 0.04 tree(s)!


Thanks to @a1-shroom-spores

We have planted already 7391.29 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22143.99
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thats so cool!!! We can grow mushrooms here but I have never got around to it.

How cool is that?
Very cool 😎 @a1-shroom-spores!
So those are actual morels in your pics? I thought they must be statues...
What is this?

sprayed some Morel spore prints: {which i soaked in water for 20 min.}

If you answer in part 2 of your post, never mind. Headed there now to read it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34