After larynx cancersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cancer7 years ago (edited)

Larynx cancer in the age of 10

I'm Adrian, 1956. In the age of 10 (1966) i got larynx cancer.  Since 51 years, i live with it and i'm ok.

.... i breath trough a stoma (whole) in my neck.  Sounds horrible - but, i do the best, i can cover it with a tshirt

.... i can not speak in a normal way. Now i can whisper and also use a special speakmethod called "esophagus language"

My stoma

Until about 2005, my stoma was always "unprotected open", but i have covered with a normal tshirt. Nowadays are existing some protection (Atos Medical) - where the stoma is covered with an adhesive plasticring and filter. If people see this, they are not so shocked, maybe only surprised and ask themself: "what is this?". This was my biggest problem to work on myself. I was always thinking "what other people think about me when they see this". This was/is painful for me. Now after so many years, i could improve my self-esteem. Maybe it was different to the patients from today. Mostly they receive this larynx cancer in the age of 50 and above. This brothers and sisters, they know from themself what they did in the life before. But with 10, i did not understand why.

I was growing with this handicap, but i have known from beginning "i can not change this - i can only do the best". This i did. I have study, university, success in job, family - and all of this with a handicaped stoma and voice. 

My voice

The voice i have trained myself from beginning with a special technique. 1966, at that time where no speech therapist exisited. I have found out myself. I press (swallow) some air from the mouth carefully to the esophagus - not to much, it would end in the stomach, this i dont want - then release it to the mouth. "Normal" people would now burp. Me not, i speak with this little backair. One "burp" can be by beginners one vocal, one syllable - by me is now 4 to 6 words in one piece. So i can speak louder than whisper! It is sounding like i am hoarse/huskily - nowadays i can also speak with emotions - like speaking a little higher and a little deeper in the sound.

Why i write this in steem?

Is not for me. 

Is for all other patients they receive the diagnose cancer. Some of you have the chance to live longer. If, then you have to work on you, daily! My motto was: "Me? Today i have no time to die".

Adrian

Sort:  

Hello @nairda
This story made it to the ღ #steempearls of @tabea . Check it out at https://steemit.com/steempearls/@tabea/steempearls-17

Thank you for recognizing my story @tabea. Is a great honour to be in #steempearls.

Thank you for this. Promoted it a little and I hope it get some more views!

thank you. i hope the people look the video.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LadyInBlack from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

thank you i will come in the comunity. i have heard about it from @tabea

welcome @Nairda to Steemit:) . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thanks, i will follow you

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @nairda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39