My Cancer Journey: Part 7

in #cancer6 years ago

When we last left off, I had just finished up with my surgery and I was waiting for my follow up appointment with the doctor.

If you recall, it was a pretty short recovery time, and I was back to work within two days. In the meantime, I was getting started on all of my insurance paperwork.

A couple of years prior to all of this, a representative came into the place my wife and I work and offered a supplemental cancer policy. Due to the area that I grew up in (large chemical company town), we thought it would be a good idea to sign up for that. This policy would then help offset any costs that might not be covered by our regular insurance.

This brings me to my public service announcement for this post: If you ever sign up for one of these supplemental policies, make sure you know exactly what you are getting.

You need to remember that the people offering these policies are salespeople, it is up to you to do your homework to make sure you know what you are getting.

Some policies offer an initial diagnosis benefit (basically, you get a payout if you are diagnosed with cancer) as part of the package. With other companies that benefit is a separate rider, you have to pay more for.

Additionally, there are many things that you would think should be covered that are actually not. Also a lot of times, you only get paid out if the cancer is a certain kind, so just make sure you read the policy multiple times, so you know what you are getting. If you have questions don't be afraid to ask, but remember they are ultimately there to sell you something.

Moving on

While we were waiting for the follow-up appointment, the pathology came back from my tumor and I was able to file my first claim with the supplemental insurance company.

Based on the pathology report, the tumor was indeed cancerous (a mere technicality, the doctor had all but verified that) and it was very large. The report showed that at its largest dimension the tumor on my testicle measured 8cm.

For reference, the largest dimension of an average adult testicle is 5cm. My wife was certainly right when she said "baby, that's not normal" several months ago to start this process.

My appointment date finally came and I went in to see the urologist. He was very happy with how the incision was healing and was ready to refer me to an oncologist. He ordered a new blood test to check those tumor indicators and he also wanted me to get a chest x-ray and pelvis/abdomen CT scan to check for any other obvious signs of cancer.

It was time to play the waiting game again, but I had a lot of tests to get done before my first appointment with the oncologist. You will find out all about that next time when I continue my journey. Thanks for stopping in, the support from everyone reading this has been so uplifting and helpful for my spirit. I appreciate it!

image source
image source

Many of my posts in this series have been featured in The STEEM Engine and SteemRepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Good luck on your journey! I pray that you fully heal.

Thank you!

good luck for you both... 😊 @peekbit

I always hate that the insurance landscape is just riddled with sneaky sales folk that don't know enough about their own product. It's pretty difficult to get all the details right and know if you are fully covered at a reasonable price. But yes, any insurance product is a must do homework kind of deal....

Best of luck in your fight, defeat cancer with all your power!

Thank you I appreciate it. From what I have since gathered, the one that is represented by a duck seems to be better than some of the other ones, but unfortunately, that isn't the one I have!

I lost my grandmother, one aunt and a friend to cancer. Thanks for sharing your experience and raising awareness through your posts. I know it's not easy. Stay strong!

Thank you! I am sorry for your loses. That is tough :(

Insurance policies are mainly only good for the salesperson and the company, not so much for the policy holder. The fine print is usually so small you need a microscope to read it, but there is where all the information is found.
Good luck with both the cancer and the insurance.

Thanks I appreciate it. I am in the appeal process with the insurance right now. They at least gave me enough to cover my deductible so I guess I should just be happy for that!

Upon reading your post , I remember my mom. Hoping for your wellness... Get some vacay no matter what your dealing with your cancer... Stay strong

Thank you!

I hate cancer as my mom died when I was very young. You fight this thing and live a beautiful life buddy.

Thank you! I appreciate it and I am sorry about your mom. That had to be tough. Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36