Road trip to beautiful Bishop, California!

in #camping7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1269.JPG

Had a great time fishing and enjoying the scenery in Bishop last week. My boyfriend, his mom, and I got a cabin and stayed three days. We also had her dog along and she was a very well behaved camper. Just look at that face!

IMG_1182.JPG

The cabin had a porch, fire ring, BBQ, and a picnic table. The cabin was tiny but really cute and rustic. I saw a doe in our campground and another eating by the roadside. I also spotted a gorgeous, bright yellow bird with black markings, but I couldn't identify it. I also saw quail, a jackrabbit and these plump little black birds by the water.

IMG_1272.JPG

They were pretty unafraid of humans. Anyone know what kind this is? They liked to walk in the water and be near bushes.
The fishing was good! I quit on the last day when I caught a really young trout. I've never seen one so small (it fit in the palm of my hand). I didn't want to risk catching another one that small, I felt really bad. I also hooked a bass but it got away to swim another day. We used night crawlers and power bait.

IMG_1288.JPG

There were bear sightings recently on the grounds we stayed at, but luckily we didn't see any. We usually tent camp, but no way in hell am I doing that in bear country! All in all it was a really great trip. We played board games (we taught his mom Catan and Pandemic) and cooked, we fished and visited many bodies of water, from various creeks to lakes (including Lake Sabrina which the locals pronounce as Lake Sa-brine-uh.....why?!).

Thanks for reading. I'd love to hear some of your favorite camping spots and traditions.

IMG_1297.JPGIMG_1284.JPG

(All photos are taken by me)

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @renodakota to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks for sharing !
Upvoted
I have stared following you and I would appreciate your follow back .
Thank you!

Do you camp? I'm going to check out your blog. Thanks for the vote and follow:)

Oh, I love all the photos. It sounds like a perfect trip. Was it hot?

I miss fishing, it's been a long time, my X and I did it all the time, it is one of those things that just makes me miss him.

The weather there was crazy. It changed from hot to cold and slightly rainy, back to hot every ten minutes. I've never experienced such fluctuation!

Wow... that is crazy. This year in particular has been so strange (weather in context to this)... I feel like there is a shift afoot.

Looks like a fantastic trip! Awe inspiring scenery! That first is gorgeous! I wish I could scoop it up and bring it home. Lol.

It was a very beautiful place. There were so many lakes and creeks in the area. Thanks for checking out my post. I need to post something new, it's been a while.

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70