I'm Back After 3 Weeks - Part 2: How The Cameroon Anglophone Crisis Has Affected Me

in #cameroon6 years ago

Hello, to all Steeming!. Yesterday, I posted the first part this post that is meant to explain why I have been away and what I have been or what I am going through. check out the first part: I'm Back After 3 Weeks - Part 1: I Got A New Device

Small Intro About Cameroon

As many might know, Cameroon is a bilingual country with English and French been our official languages. The country has ten with eight of them French speaking (Francophone) and the remaining two are English speaking (Anglophone) regions. For many years now, Anglophones have been complaining about marginalization by the Francophones.

The Cameroon Anglophone Crisis

The Cameroon Anglophone crisis or problem has been going on for almost two years. It started with anglophone lawyers striking against English been excluded in their activities and anglophone teachers striking against low salary. These strikes later matured and changed direction to demanding separation of country. I have never liked politics and choose not to write about it until now that I am down because of it. If you want to know the magnitude of this problem, check out these updates; Anglophone Crisis - Wikipedia Cameroon Anglophone Crisis major incidents BBC - Rebels seeking for Independence


Source

Being an Anglophone, this is the second time that the Cameroon-Anglophone problem has majorly affected me. The first was actually when it all started back in November 2016. I had to quit at my 3rd year in the university (which I started just one month before) and went home because of the numerous strikes and killings that were happening in the town where I was schooling. Back at home, I was doing a lot of research on the internet as well as searching for minor jobs and I got to know about Bitcoin. While learning and having a mastery of Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency, I got to know about Steem and I joined Steemit on the 29th of June 2017. Actually, I have little or no regrets missing out of that school year because I feel that I learned a lot more than I would have learned in classrooms. After all, I came back to school the following year and I am now on the verge of completing my program that demands four years.

The second time is currently now. I and many other Anglophones have ran away from our towns to seek for safety (or call it refuge lol) in the French speaking towns because of two potential dates that “Separatists” declared that there might be an open war between them and the Military. These dates are the 1st of October (Independence Day of Ambazonia or English Cameroon) and 7th of October (Presidential Elections). Here is a clue To top it all, the reaction from the military is far worst than imaginable as many have been arrested and some killed without any motive. I had to leave because of the numerous gun shots and arrests made by the military on several visits in my neighborhood. Here is a clue.

I left Buea on Wednesday the 19th of September for Douala hoping to return on the 10th of October if everything remains calm. My family back home also moved to another town in the French speaking part of the country. Life here is very difficult for me and I can’t wait to get out of here. I had to withdraw all my Steem to support myself here. BTW, not much did happen or better still, no war occurred on the 1st of October but as the Independence day celebrations were done in small villages and not the major that everyone including the military was expecting. Anglophones in UK also did gather to honor the day. We are left to see how tomorrow would turn out.

Pray for Cameroon, Pray for me!

written by @akomoajong with love for Steem.

steemit.png

My Affiliate Area

  1. Join this steemit community with over 18,000 members to make friends and get upvotes: Join here

  2. Register and trade your cryptocurrencies with Binance, the number one ranked Cryptocurrency exchange in the world: Visit Website

  3. Seven (7) Coinpot Cryptocurrency Faucets

@akomoajong 06/10/2018

Sort:  

Hello friend, actually everyone has their existential problems, but for now yours is much more serious because it is a trigger for a war that will only bring death and desolation, I am very sorry for what you are going through, I have always known about the problems existing in Cameru but I admire watching them play football, and since then they are part of my desires that overcome the crisis, here in Venezuela we are also in crisis that every day increases more and more and only I fear a social explosion, because by far increase that of the government the inflation wraps us, being in a famine without equal, neither medicines nor anything we can acquire. For now I will have you in my prayers and I wish you from the heart that you can overcome so many calamities, and be a happy boy again, since I perceive that you have a lot of sadness, encouragement, friend, God will not abandon you, a greeting and a big hug from solidarity for you from my beloved Venezuela. @akomoajong

Thanks a lot for this amazing comment, it made my day. I remain very strong for a turnaround!

Posted using Partiko Android

I pray for you and your country. That is a very sad situation. Please do what you have to to stay safe. I send all my love your way and ask our creator to guide and protect you.

Safety is all I aim at and I am doing my best. Thank you very much

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow so happy to see you air light on the reality in Cameroon. I think it’s very important to be able to talk about it. Try and stay safe.
As for the elections , we all know how that is going to turn out...

How are you my friend? I am so sorry that things like this happen in the countries, my mother told me one day, do not complain about the situation in Venezuela, there are countries where they are worse.

I will pray a lot for camerum!

Thank you my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know much about Cameroon @akomoajong but Im already fully aware that your country is going through some heavy crisis.

I hope you will be safe there.

Yours
Piotr

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82