Hello Steemit!

in #calligraphy7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8360.JPG

Hi, my name is Brandon Sahlfeld. I'm a visual artist/designer currently attending Oregon State Univeristy as an art student.

Here's a quick version of my art story so far. I never really drew or intentionally made art for most of my life. I was a passively curious kid who stumbled into this thing (art) around five or six years ago when I decided against becoming an engineer. During the fall of 2011, I declined my admission to OSU as an engineering undergrad and instead chose to take some community college courses in basic design. Degree requirements pushed me to take an elective, so on a whim I enrolled in a calligraphy course. Nearly six years later I am approaching my graduation from university with a degree in Visual Arts.

IMG_0262.JPG

IMG_9885.JPG

Enlight1.jpg

IMG_010 (Carolingian).jpg

IMG_5237.JPG

While most of my work and interest revolves around type or text in some form, I am influenced by an ocean of random interests which eventually brought me here, to Steemit.

IMG_1218.JPG

AA79671C-969E-435E-899E-9D625931E0D3.JPG

My work has a heavy focus on lettering and calligraphy but is not necessarily tied to it (yet).

IMG_8215.JPG

IMG_5631.JPG

B78EB498-36B2-4D65-B247-9BEAC8F2F5BC.JPG

This was just a brief introduction to my story and some of my work that I hope will continue to grow alongside this community. Thanks for taking the time to look!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @threedads!

Hope you enjoy being here!

I'd like to remind you of Steemit.Chat (https://steemit.chat) where you can talk with others, promote your post in their promotion channels, and have a great time :)

Once again, enjoy your time on Steemit, and shall you have any questions, feel free to reply or ask in the #help channel of the chat!

Hello there and welcome to Steemit. I like your work x

Fonts are so cool! I used to practice copying different lettering from a fonts book on my way home on the school bus as a kid, a fond memory of a loved hobby, that I was recently reminded of when I was at a thrift store where I found this massive book called the precision type font reference guide version 5.0 , called the complete font software resource for electronic publishing. It has all sorts of funky fonts, and until now I knew of no one to share my treasure thrift store discovery, so -- kudos on your beautiful art work!

Sounds like an awesome thrift store find! Just looked into the book a bit, and I've been wanting to get some larger reference like it, might have to consider this one. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82