Unicorns, Bears and Pilots! Oh, my! (HOW TO MAKE A FONDANT UNICORN CAKE)

in #cakes7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to stand apart from my husband, @xtrodinarypilot, at the first Houston Steem Meet Up. I wanted to show how extraordinary of a mom and entrepreneur I really am. So, I decided to make a cake. The most popular cake I made this weekend was the Unicorn Cake. We had @sirlunchthehost staying with us and he requested I make him something special. That’s exactly what I did.

This is one of my favorite cakes to make! It involves a little fondant work, lots of color, a sparkly horn and a creative look. Unicorns are so magical that it makes me feel good to make a little girl a birthday cake full of glitter and wonder!
I baked the cakes and did a traditional buttercream icing.

For the horn, I took white fondant and colored it gold using a bit of orange and yellow. I rolled it into a tapered snake and then twisted it around a wooden rod. I let that dry and then sprayed it with edible gold spray paint. Then the last step is to sprinkle edible gold glitter to really make it sparkle!

For the ears, I cut a triangle and then rounded them off. Next, cut a smaller triangle and round it off. Then place the smaller piece inside the larger piece. Do the same coloring technique as with the horn. I painted the small inner part of the ear with edible gold paint and then sprinkled on edible gold glitter. I placed the horn in the middle of the cake and the ears on either side of the horn.

To create the gorgeous rainbow colored mane, I lined up different colored icings in rows on plastic wrap and then rolled them up. TIP: When using a piping bag to pipe icing, always put your icing inside of plastic wrap. It makes for a MUCH easier clean up and your bags stay fresh longer! Then, I used a 17, 21 and 199 numbered Wilton icing tips on each color of icing to create different size and textures in the rosettes. Rosettes are made by rounding your icing into a shape of a rose. You can find a video on that below. I made a few large, medium and small rosettes, in no particular pattern, up around the ears and back down the back of the cake. Then, I piped stars all around the base of the cake.

2017-10-16_22-48-12.gif

For the sleepy eyes, I lined up edible gold pearls in a crescent and added a few eye lashes. I apply these little guys using tweezers.

The last detail to this specific cake is the Steemit logo! I used a darker blue fondant to make the two smaller pieces and a lighter blue to make the larger center piece. Anytime I am making something like a logo or a trademarked design, I trace it so that it looks exactly what it is supposed to look like. For the Steemit logo, I traced it onto a piece of paper and then placed that on top of the fondant and traced the logo lightly but enough to make an indention in the fondant.

@sirlunchthehost used my cake to talk about how Steemit is used to create and the importance of being unique. Whether you create music, videos, a place for people to learn things, a way for your audience to see the world through your travels, an outlet to vent, a way to build community, a platform for interactive contests, art, or whatever it is that you desire to create.. The point was that we all have the uncensored freedom to create content and build a community. My cake is a product of that.

I had a very busy weekend making cakes for clients, and I had kids at home waiting for me to return, so I had to leave early but I was told everyone enjoyed my cake. I enjoyed the basic Steemit knowledge and technology talk given by @instructor2121, the encouragement and insight into becoming famous on Steemit given by @sirlunchthehost, the community brought together by @xtrodinarypilot and the informative piece about how to get started and be successful by @mrwang.

Thank you to everyone who complimented me on @sirlunchthehosts post about the Houston Steem Meet Up. If you ever need a cake I would love to create something beautiful and tasty just for you!!! Can’t wait to see you all at the next Houston Steem Meet Up!

@sirlunchthehost posting about my cake during the Houston MeetUp
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sirlunchthehost/sirlunchthehost-the-houston-meet-up-lets-have-fun
@xtrodinarypilot posting about he Houston Steem MeetUp
https://steemit.com/houston/@xtrodinarypilot/houston-steem-meetup-hits-misses-and-home-runs

Sort:  

Wow nice cake!!!

You got skill!!!

Keep it up!!!

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much!!!!!

this is what it looks like when you eat it

It was even design both inside and out, wow!, this is great job

Absolutely! A cake should be beautiful inside and out and also taste yummy!!!!!

Wow,thjs is a very beautiful cake, thumbs up to you @xtdnrymompreneur, and all thanks @sirlunchthehost for the encouragement.. # keep Steeming

Thanks so much!! I appreciate all of the support!!!

You're welcome

Outstanding food post. Very well done, keep these coming!

Appreciate it!!! I sure do love to cook and baking is my thing!

looks delicious cake
nice work
keep going on friend

It was so yummy!

Mucho mucho thank you!!!!

This is not fair because now I'm hungry...Nice work

Lol right!!! Next meetup come to Houston and I will be sure to have some more!

very unique! awesome gif with it too! :)

Thank you so very much! This is all so new to me, @xtrodinarypilot helps me figure it all out! He showed me tonight how to turn a short video into a gif. 😊

Steemit cake, very original idea :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05