Cactus thief 2: BARRICADE CACTUS

in #cacti7 years ago

Just across the street from my home, there is an empty lot.

The owner of this lot doesn't visit his estate too much, but people used a narrow path through that lot as a shortcut to the beach. But the owner didn't like that, so, few years ago, he planted there a guardian. Look how it looks now:

It seems that this species of cacti grows very fast.

It spread and now it is a real barricade. Nobody can't pass to the path. But owner doesn't take care of this cactus and I think that the poor plant is very sick. It's color turned to be more light than before and the cactus is full of scars. It seems that it doesn't have any spines at all!

So, I decided to take a cut, just a little sample to see if I can make a healthy clone of this cactus. I brought my scalpel and some wooden ashes to help the main cactus to heal it's wound. But I couldn't find a healthy piece to cut. So I decided to take a larger cut and take a smaller cut from it at my home.

I was wrong when I said that the cactus seems like it doesn't have any spines at all!

And, of course, I forgot to take my gloves with me.

Luckily, these spines are little and it's easy to take them out, but there was so many of them. Check my finger:

So I had to do some surgery on the sample I took.

It is not so important that the surface of the cut has to be straight. It can be curved, it just doesn't matter. I'll take the smaller part.

In my post from yesterday I explained how to get a new cactus from the cutting.

It is important to put some ashes of the wood on the cut surface. And leave it to be in dry, warm place for few days.

Then, the sample will be placed in a little pot with some wet sand. Few days after that, it will begin to have little roots and it will be ready to be planted in a pot with mix of soil and sand.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @dumar022.

Yes...cactus is a dangerous foe. Amazing how many prickles it was able to inflict you with. Glad to hear you are none the worse for wear.

All the best to you and yours. Cheers.

Thank you, @bleujay, I am always glad to see your comment! Actually, I took more than one sample of different cacti today. One will be posted tomorrow, and that one gave me some scratches, but nothing serious

Cool post, I will also check out how you made the new cactus grow and I follow you :)

It's not about spring, it is about my family. Every spring they get crazy about flowers, and that gives me the inspiration for my cacti. I can't explain my interest in cactus. I go in market to buy a milk and I get out with a milk and a dozen little cacti on sale... Just love them

Thats so cool, but next time better take gloves :D

LOL, I will, I'm still trying to get rid of these spines on my hands :)

Is that the middle finger in the picture? :-)

Luckily, no!

Interesting. I wonder if kudzu would smother out the cactus? And, it is a fast grower.

Well, this one seems to be a real survivor, it's just next to a road and nothing bothers it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83