BW Photo Contest Entry# 1

This photo I made about two years ago. I like this place. I like architecture and bicycles standing along the canal. It's good to walk here and think about life.

 Canon EOS1100D L 18-55 

Sort:  

This location has many points of interest & converging lines of perspective, what a great place to return for photography, or loitering & observing.

You can bring out the sky in a wide-exposure lighting scenario like this by bracketing your exposure over a series of shots then combine the sky from one & the for/mid ground from another. Composing the shot according to the rule of thirds would also really draw out the key interest points & perspective lines.

Are you planning to return here to capture more images? I'd love to see this scene in foggy conditions.

I hope you don't mind but I couldn't help but mock up a cropped & bracketed version of your image to illustrate, I hope you like the results, albeit a bit limited in how much I could alter your original:
Mock-up recomposition and bracketed exposure of original

Thank you! This way it likes really much more interesting!

You're welcome @torem-di-torem, I'm glad you liked it & weren't offended by my modification of your original. When I like a scene I usually try to take several pictures from one position, then recompose the shot from another position & take several more, using different exposures at each location. That way you have options later, and can work around impossible exposures (backlighting etc). The rule of thirds is a powerful yet easy composition element to exploit.

BTW: I used pixlr to create the mock-up, I wrote an introduction to the tool and have been considering creating a series of guides/tutorials in using it, if there's enough interest that is (it takes time to assemble the graphics used to illustrate points).

Awesome shot Lois like a real nice area for walking with cool architecture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79