B&W Photo Contest "Shadows" Entry 1: DOUBLE Shadow ~*~Cicada Hatching In The Night~*~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago

Greetings!


This is the Steemit Promotion Logo Thumbnail photo and the official entry is after. 



This is quite a special post in my mind as I have lived in Texas for a very long time and only seen a cicada hatch a few times. Cicadas live underground as nymphs for over a decade before they come to the surface to metamorphosize! It really is an extraordinary creature!

We were lucky enough to see this cicada hatch and catch it before it could fly. This is a really nice photo of the cicada out of its shell. Because it was night time yet the opportunity was so prime I had lighting for a good photo. Because of the special lighting I have a PERFECT photo for this competition on "shadows" as this photo is a DOUBLE shadow!

This was a fun event because I was able to show my children and many other people this special moment. Thankfully I got some really nice photos. More of which I hope to share one day!

Before I share the official entry I want to give a special thanks to @daveks for hosting this event I have entered so many times and of which so many Steemians have participated in!

Also a SUPER special thanks to @papa-pepper for being such a role model and huge benefactor for this Steemit community. He has been sponsoring this event for a long time and given away THOUSANDS of $teem over the year to help this community grow and succeed!

So here is my official entry photo!



Photography is very important to me because not only do I get to capture and cherish beautiful and epic moments but I get to share them! 


I have learned SO much about the world from observation and thankfully I usually have a camera with me to capture and share the many profound and beautiful observations I witness. 


I am very grateful to be here on Steemit and to be able to share with all of you. It has been the most rewarding online experience I have had in this life thus far. 


As always I appreciate your support and welcome your feedback~

SteemON!




Sort:  

Ummm you're last photo is just amazing! hehehe! :) You're hat even matches your pants. I dig it.

Yea im a fashion nerd for sure. I have my own clothing line, jewelry line, Steemit gear, hand made knives and more. I have endless epic outfits ;-)> even for working in the yard hahaha

Oooo dang! Hand made knives? how do you make that?

btw...You're pretty awesome!

Hehe thanks ;-)>
Yes hand made knives, they are made out of metal that is heated many times shaped, tempered then handles added and sharpening. U can see some of them at www.epichandmadeknives.com

SteemON!

OOo I'll have to check it out! how awesome.

Did you?
=)>

Omg they are so beautiful! The metal is really interesting too... I didn't know they could have such cool patterns on the metal! Love your work. You are super talented!

Yes I make many different types of knives but those are particularly beautiful and are called damascus steel.

Great photographic work, thanks for sharing...

Thanks for your support! Great to see you again!

welcome, more success to you.

Blessings friend~*~

Thanks, same here.

Love the lighting of your shot.

Thanks!
I am very pleased with this shot!

OMG amazing photo makes me feel curious!! REESTEMED--->

hahahaha curious is good, there is always unknown to be explored!
Nature is forever interesting∞§∞

This really is a beautiful and epic moment! Wow!!!

Yes it is!
Happy to share it!
SteemON!

Those flies are enjoying themselves and you took a good shot...haha, nice one indeed.

Yea, cicadas are cool creatures. Love their summer time sounds.

almost everyone must know you by now!
I am surprised u still have a 49 rating with all the spam combat out there these days!

You only say meep, I say whatever I want!

you might as well be mute.

I agree, they look great on the pic

Wow, what a big monster! :))) And the noisiest bug. When I spent my holiday in Greece, I couldn't sleep with it's sawyer noise.

Yes here in Texas we have them raging all night long every night of the summer.
I quite like it but that is because I am used to it growing up with it.

How neat that you had this opportunity to catch such a rarity! Fantastic photo!!

Yes it is a blessing indeed!

Thanks for the compliment and support!

SteemON!

Excellent photography

Thank you kindly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32