B&W Photo Contest Plants Entry 1: SuperFood Japanese Purple Shiso (in b&w of course) plus BONUS UpsideDown Praying Mantis!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

Greetings!


Its a new week in one of my favorite contests here on Steemit, the Black and White Photo Contest!

This weeks theme is Plants, of which is one of my favorite subjects because here in The Garden of Eden we have a LOT of plants! Most all of them are edible and help us feed thens of thousands of free meals a year.

Plants also improve the the earth and environment for us ALL!

So lets honor nature and some of her plants today!

I really like to enter the Steemit Contests that are relevant to my life because it really helps promote Steemit and also is great for interconnecting Steemians with each other. I am truly committed and invested in the progressive success of this community and see so much potential for us here!

 Below is the Steemit thumbnail promo photo and the contest photo is after. 




The lighting and shadows are the key for B&W photography as far as I have found. Because there is no color it is the contrast of light and shadow that really makes a great photo. 

This contest is hosted by @daveks Thank you for hosting this contest as it gives us photographers an opportunity to share our photos and to meet other photographers!


Also a SUPER thanks to our Steemit Hero @papa-pepper for sponsoring this contest as he has since the beginning and helping SO many Steemians find a welcome and success here. This contest would not be what it is as many other facets of Steemit without @papa-pepper!


Steemit is just such an awesome place for sharing and connecting with people. I am very grateful to be here with you all. 

~*~Purple Japanese Shiso With Prying Mantis~*~




Purple shiso is a SUPER food/herb and I wrote quite an extensive post and video on it if you would like to check it out!


I also REALLY love Praying Mantis as it truly appears to be the most cognitive and intelligent bug I have ever seen. They seem to just look right into my eyes and see so much. They also have some very unique and interesting tendencies. I have captured some great moments of them in the past but this one is PERFECT as its hanging upside down like a Jedi!


I really love photography because it is such a great way to capture the essence of beautiful moments and share them with people!



As always I appreciate your support and welcome your feedback!


SteemON!



Sort:  

that praying mantis is really extraordinary...what fascinating creatures they are!

Truly agree~*~

Now, I have found the mantis! It has a good camouflage :)))

Yes it does!
And high levels of inelegance!

I agree that light and shadow have a big impact in creating black-and-white photograph. You have great contrast in your pictures. I've been looking for objects for my work on the topic. In the end, it is the contrast helped me to find the idea. I wish you good luck in the contest.

Thanks for the comment!

I love black and white photos like this, but I also love the colour purple, so I am torn!!

Great photography, keep up the good work.

hahaha well said. Thanks for the comment.

Awesome photo, great balance between light and dark in this one:-)

this is an interesting and good post, I @rebatesteem though without you telling me already like it. and hope that the next post will be better again.and I would be very grateful if you have a little time and want to love it to visit my post today about the theme of life with strong people and weak people we can unite.

Thank you for your comment.

SteemON!

This is really cool to be apart of.I wish I was apart of that japanese experience.

Great photography. please upvote and follow me i really need help growing on steemit..

Good shot and sure that Purple shiso is a healthy plant to eat? thanks for sharing

VERY SURE, check out my extensive post I linked in this article.

Great thanks for sharing, good one indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50