What began two months ago. 🏠 Is now just plain home.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #buynew7 years ago (edited)

I paid double rent for 60 days.

Time to sort things, get organized. I have family coming to town and the new place is a dream for them all to enjoy. Lots of time to get the moving done, what could go wrong.

solerium.jpg

Two months shrinks quickly when you are sick in bed, can't breathe, and your shoulder is out of whack. You can't hurry the recovery. But I was free to join the family in the hot tub. I also had some fun playing "who can stay longest in a 185 degree wood box." - For health reasons of course.

Yes, 185 is the max setting, so of course everyone uses the sauna at that temperature.

But October 1st kept getting closer.

there is a day I have to be out of the old apartment.

So this problem popped up, as everyone wanted to be in the gym, the hot tub and the sauna. Contracts and moving were up to me by default. I don't like to ask for help even when it had been offered months before. I tried to move what I could, reinjured my shoulder a couple of times, then I asked...

The smallest doesn't live with me. He pulled a cart 4 blocks to the new place.

I eeked a day or two out of my middle boy. There we were one morning. He thought he would give me 20 minutes of help before school then off he went... -NOT so fast. I wrecked his perfect attendance record at school that day. We ordered a pizza, then got to work. We got a lot done. Everything that was going to the new apartment was in one place, ready to be moved.

My eldest was sick like me - still he helped toss every bit of furniture I had out by the dumpster. Heavy work at a time when my shoulder was at its worst. (did I tell you that the new place is half the size?) I had all new stuff custom built to fit the apartment.
The street looked like a dibs-contest with people holding their reserve on this table and that TV stand.

whale votes

Tables, chairs, couches, shelves...

It was 60 days ago. This...

The link if you want to have a look.


The first post had a video of them hauling this too big couch in over the balcony rail from the scary side.

Here it is looking upward. - Nice couch - has to be moved like a piano though.


Here are a few other shots of my new place.

Rooftop sunning terrace)

We have endless

city skyline that lights up in the evening. And across the river, we have a shoreline view of Uruguay.

There is access to all sides of the building on the roof for perfect sunrises and sunsets, which are my favorites.

The rest of the roof is filled with saunas, steam rooms, showers, a gym and a huge hot tub.

The clowniest of the two bigger clowns. In the roof-top hot tub

Here are my two biggest ones in the tub. Neither formally learned to swim so they are getting ready for the next time we hit the ocean. My oldest was born and raised in the USSA and visits quite a bit. The one standing up, is my middle one and he is fully bilingual having been born way south of the equator.

The water jets spout out and can reach just about any spot that his bothering you!

and my littleest clown who whas the first to freeze his buzzongas off in the coldest of colt waster

The clowniest of the three, my littlest just had to try out the big (summer time pool) the first weekend he came to visit. You'll see that I caught him mid air if you can see the little arrow I drew to show it. The day was 65 degrees, the water not so warm. He got taste of what "on the rocks" means. He stayed in for about 2 minutes.

The kicker to this story is that this place costs the same to rent as my old place which had radiators for heat. I bet they didn't think of that when they had the idea to raise my rent. But I got my own idea. Trash my stuff and get all new stuff at at high rise.

The biggest kicker....

I could never afford this move without the money I made on Steemit!

Sort:  

It is beautiful to see you are happy. Steemit making dreams come true. Enjoy the move

Thanks alot. I have seen your blog, once or twice while browsing. I think one of my colleagues upvoted your intro post. I wish you the best of success here as well.

Thank you very much.

Wow, that is quite the place for the same rent as your old place. Steemit money comes through again.

Awesome, i love this part where you said

The kicker to this story is that this place costs the same to rent as my old place which had radiators for heat. I bet they didn't think of that when they had the idea to raise my rent. But I got my own idea. Trash my stuff and get all new stuff at at high rise.

Amazing

:) I never wanted money to change me. Torn jeans and an old Sabbath shirt. Now I walk in those gates looking like gates did when he was a garage programmer.

very inspiring post ! well done buddy!

wohoo that's awesome great update i remember you posted long back about shifting looks like everything is on point now great to see this post today and steemit making dream's to turn into reality : )

I really don't want money to change me. A tad more security for my family is what I am after. I have really missed posting, but I had to get all of my things out of the old apartment before I could dedicate time to it. Thanks for thinking of me!

That's really nice of you everyone think of their family first :)

"The rest of the roof is filled with saunas, steam rooms, showers, a gym and a huge hot tub." So you actually live at this place o.O It sounds like a vacation home, lol. Any chance you tell the price you pay monthly? Just out of curiousity :P

In Dollars? $824.00 per month plus cable and electric. Always less than $900

900 dollars a month?!! What country is that? That's really cheap for a place like that.

I'm in South America and I have always paid around $300 maximum. In times of crisis (2001) I had a place for less but the money was harder to get.

That must be a poor welfare. 300 bucks would give for a tiny bedroom where I live.

No, I never lived on welfare. I had lived in placed that cost $125 per month for a room. But I spent less tan I made and made it back into a 2 beedrooom apartment in a year. Hospitals are all free and I always had a job. Then I started mining and the rest is in my blog.

waw so this is in fact really a successtory!

One of many that I know of. See @kaylinart and @budgetbucketlist who both stopped working after starting steemit. I stopped when bitcoin went over 40.00

Wow man, its really cool to hear from you. Long time no see. I truly liked the picture wit the orange juice, what a VIEW. I hope you enjoy it a lot.

Yes I did! I have been drinking more juice since then as a matter of fact. I can't seem to stop the coffee habit though. I hope your business is good. I will certainly let you know when our next meeting might be. 👍

This is really nice. I'm glad to have you here.

This post has received a 18.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sponge-bob.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61