Shop small!

in #buylocal7 years ago

If there's something you need or want and a small business produces a version of it that is high quality I encourage you to support that business and those they employee by purchasing from them instead of one of the big box stores.

image

Here is an example of a company that I have now purchased multiple backpacks from. GORUCK, makes their gear here in the US and they employee mainly veterans. Now don't get me wrong, I bought at the time I could get the best deal by combining some discounts, but I would still rather buy from them as opposed to spending half the money and getting a poorly made bag at Walmart or some other big store.

Except for one item I ordered off Amazon most of my purchases the past few days have been from small companies making regular items, but at a higher quality than the typical mass produced crap.

I ordered some other gear from ITS Tactical, I ordered a pair of pants from Bluffworks, I bought a used book from a local "popup" bookstore, I bought some just for fun stuff from a German company, etc.

Not everything I buy is handmade or bespoke or even the absolute best quality, but I try and support local and/or small business when I can.

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I did another little EDC pocket Dump earlier I'll try and get the post up tomorrow

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63