Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 39

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! It's that time again...Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 39! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects from around the world, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and other insect photos or art work for a chance to win Steem. Until things great straightened out with the people responsible for downvoting all posts that receive SBI upvotes, I will be giving away Steem now. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks so much for all of your amazing photos and art work which I continue to enjoy. The winners for Week 38 is everyone who entered! You will all receive 1-Steem each...my Christmas gift to you! @nikv, @deerjay, @nutman, @lenasveganliving, @sketch.and.jam, @annephilbrick. @belkisa758, @antoniarhuiz, @gertu, @slwzl, @melinda010100, @chromiumone.

Please give our friend @chromiumone some love as he continues to generously add to the prize pool.

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work fron the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the Giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but is greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for this week of 3 Itti-Bitty insects.

First up is a Grape Leaffolder Moth.

These moths have a wingspan of 1" to 1.5". They fly during the day and you can see them out and about from April until late September. I found this one in mid August. And you all know how happy I was to capture its tiny face from far away. You will have to squint to see it though.

Grape Leaffolder moth caterpillars feed on grape leaves and overwinter inside folded leaves; hence their name. They have also been seen feeding on Redbud, Evening Primrose and Virginia Creeper.

Next is this small Clouded Sulphur butterfly.

Look at that cute little face!

Finally, this is a Short-winged Meadow Katydid, named because of their short wings. These katydids are small but that doesn't stop them from being good jumpers.

Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas!

With Love,

@whatisnew

All photos are my own.

Information Source: nature.mdc.mo.gov

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Congratulations to everyone this week, 5 Steem added to everyone on @whatisnew 's list.
2019-12-20 14_29_19-Chromium - @chromiumone _ SteemPeak.png

!DERANGED

Thank you so much @whatisnew and @chromiumone! Happy holidays to both of you!

My pleasure Melinda! : )

Thank you so much @whatisnew
A cute little face 🦋😍

My pleasure @slwzl! : )
I do love their little faces. LOL!

Thanks for the id on the grapeleaf folder, i've seen them before but never knew what they were. I've also wondered what was folding the leaves over. Here's this weeks entry https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sketch.and.jam/butterfly-day-tiger-beetle-blues-n6plwduu

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually helped you? Yay! Thanks for your entry. : )

I thought the folded leaves might have been a spider and never wanted to look inside just in case i ruined their home.

You have spiders on the brain. LOL!

Felicitaciones a todossss!! Gracias amiga whatisnew.

Congratulations to everyone! Thanks friend whatisnew.

My pleasure, my friend @gertu! What a great cheerleader you are. : )

Gracias amiga @whatisnew. El placer es mio.

Thanks friend @whatisnew. The pleasure is mine.

Hi Anne! Thanks for your entry. : )

😊🦋
Your most welcome....!
@whatisnew

Lol that sulphur butterfly's face! Looking right at you, amazing!

Heres my entry: https://steempeak.com/actifit/@nutman/actifit-nutman-20191219t220427653z

Oh and thanks for last week's prize :D

My pleasure @nutman! I love how you love the faces of my insects. : ) Thanks for your entry. : )

Saludos. por acá mi participación.
Feliz navidad para todos.

Regards. Over here my participation.

Merry Christmas to all.

https://steemit.com/insectpub/@gertu/concurso-semana-39-del-jueves-dia-de-mariposas-y-dia-de-insectos-contest-week-39-of-thursday-butterfly-day-and-insect-day

Hi @gertu! Thanks for your entry! : )

Thank you so much @whatisnew, such a lovely surprise 😊

This quite the selection of little critters. They are always fun to observe and photograph aren't they! Great shots my Dear. The yellow flowers gives are really beautiful 🦋😍🦋

My pleasure Lena and thanks for your kind words. I can never get enough, especially when I find a new one. : )

Always a pleasure and I know exactly what you mean 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58