Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 38

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! It is that time again...Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 38! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects from around the world, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and other insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for photos and 1-SBI for art work. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will be given for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks so much for all of your wonderful photos and art work which I continue to enjoy. The winners for Week 37 are: @nutman, @nelinoeva, @belkisa and @antoniarhuiz. Congratulations!

Please give our friend @chromiumone some love. He is generously adding his own SBI to the prize pool for the winners.

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the Giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but are greatly appreciated and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for this week of the Tachinid Fly.

This robust fly with spiky bristles is a parastoid fly. They are considered to be beneficial flies, but others may have a different opinion.

The female Tachinid fly positions her eggs in several different ways. She either lays her eggs on leaves to be eaten by caterpillars of pesky moths, inserts her eggs into the caterpillar, or attaches her eggs to the outside of the caterpillar. When they eggs hatch, they are called maggots. The maggots feed on the eggs, larvae and nymphs of beetles, earwigs, grasshoppers, and sawflies. That is why they are beneficial. They feed mostly on the larvae of pesky moths, however, they can also inadvertently destroy the caterpillars of butterflies.

Adult Tachinid flies feed on nectar, pollen and aphid honeydew.

I was able to capture its face. Yay!

Tachinid fly on the left and a bumble bee on the right.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information source: insectidentification.org, umd.edu

Proof of transfer.

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Well I know that the centipede is not an insect but an arthropod but there is a stinkbug ;) If you consider my entry, I don't need SBI shares, I just wanted to take part because I enjoy looking at the entries https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@nikv/cleaning-up-the-compost-heap-starring-cormocephalus-nitidus-and-a-stinkbug

Hi @nikv! Absolutely! We love to have you here! Thanks for your entry. : )

Nice @whatisnew a face shot and a twofer on the last one, good captures =)
Congratulations to all the winners this week !!!
2019-12-12 15_33_29-steemconnect.png
!DERANGED

Thanks Bud! Hope you continue to feel better. : )
!DERANGED

Thank you for the SBI, much appreciated!

deranged You just received DERANGED @chromiumone Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

deranged You just received DERANGED @whatisnew Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Felicitaciones a todos los ganadores.!!!

¡Gracias por ser una gran animadora!

Oh wow thanks for selecting me for a prize!
You did a great job getting the face on that fly :D
This is my entry for this week:
https://steempeak.com/actifit/@nutman/actifit-nutman-20191212t221244993z

My pleasure @nutman! Thanks for sharing in my happiness of that face. LOL! Thanks for your entry. : )

Oh that's what they are. Mostly I see Hover flies, but occasionally I see these weird creatures, lol. I have some pictures of them somewhere, I just have to find it. Great info my Dear 🦋😍🦋

Here is the Prince Basket Tail Dragonfly as I promise 😊
https://steemit.com/esteem/@lenasveganliving/dragonflies-and-damselflies-collection-2019

Hi Lena! So happy that I could give you the name of these flies. They are weird looking. Oh, I can't wait to see the dragonfly. Thanks for your entry. : )

Nice contest! My camera phone is too flow! LoL

HaHa! Thanks @kaminchan! : )

Oh wow! I thought that was a bee when I saw the first photo! Yay, on the face capture too! Let me try this again...this is my next entry..lol. https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@deerjay/a-common-buckeye-butterfly

6ssn1y.jpg

Hi @deerjay! This fly can easily be mistaken for a bee. Thanks for sharing my excitement on the face capture. LOL! And thanks for your entry. : )

You are very welcome and thank you for #butterflyday and #insectpub!! 😊

At first glance i thought it was a bumblebee. Pretty big flies. Here's this week's entry with some leafhopper drama
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sketch.and.jam/butterfly-day-4gknwuy8

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @sketch.and.jam! Easily mistaken for a bumblebee at first. Leafhopper drama? LOL! Thanks for your entry. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94