Cleaning up the compost heap, starring Cormocephalus nitidus and a stinkbug

in #butterflyday4 years ago (edited)

cormocephalus nitidus.jpg

I'm cleaning up a corner of my garden where I have been dumping all the leftovers of the invasive alien plants that I am removing bit by bit. There were some well-rotted logs from the tree I cut down and as I turned one over, I was surprised to find this mother Red Legged centipede cradling her ball of eggs. I didn't know that centipedes took care of their eggs although apparently once they hatch, they need to run away from mama as fast as possible because she may just snack on them.

Cormocephalus nitidus is one of the African giant centipedes and very common at my place. Although centipedes have a painful bite and are venomous, the level of revulsion they inspire it out of proportion to the danger that they actually represent. It's extremely rare for people to actually die of a centipede bite, complications are usually caused by allergic reactions to the venom, not the venom itself.
Despite the horror stories about centipedes, they are shy and don't usually bite unless trapped. I get really mad when my tenants insist on killing all the creepy-crawlies they encounter in the yard. I have very large spiders, snakes, scorpions and giant centipedes in my garden but I see no reason to kill any of them as none of these creatures is seriously venomous although fear and ignorance will win every time. I am keen on these giant centipedes because they eat the invasive garden snails, a large nuisance at my place that I will not poison, because of the tiny native snails that are also found there. There is space for every predator in my garden

cormocephalus nitidus2.jpg
Moving away slowly, cradling her ball of eggs in her front legs and holding on to the wood with her back legs. To give an idea of size, she's at least 10cm long

Mother centipede was much more interested in cradling her ball of eggs instead of rushing round madly like these centipedes usually do so I was able to put a handful of compost onto my palm and transfer her on to it and relocate her to a quieter corner where she won't be disturbed as I continue cleaning up the mess.

while I was sitting in the shade I ended up with a creature I fear much more on my jeans although I just transferred it to the grass. I detest the smell of stink bugs. Dalsira costalis is another frequent visitor to the garden and a fairly attractive specimen. They are quite funny to watch because they wave their antennae up and down in an alternating pattern as they walk

stinkbug.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos!
I did not know that millipedes can protect their eggs.
This is really interesting!

I also didn't know until I found these. Not all kinds of centipedes do, though

That was good luck!

That centipede is creepy and cool at the same time! Awesome shots with the eggs too! I agree that I would not want to harm it but the stinkbugs are my enemy..can't stand them. 😧

Something like that, yes :)


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it.
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it


This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thanks, as always

Whoa epic i've never seen centipede eggs before. I think centipedes actually let their babies feed off of their own body once they are hatched... pretty trippy

Posted using Partiko Android

It's also the first time I have seen them, I was looking at the arachnid forums which said that mothers may eat their offspring. There are some centipedes practicing maternal care but I don't think that Cormocephalus does so. She may also eat her eggs because I disturbed her :(

Kind of like gerbils lol.

Quite a few creatures do that when stressed

Cool photos, first off. Seriously.

Here centipedes are treated the same it seems. Killed usually. I'm not sure if our species are more or less venomous but they generally don't last long if they are found. The same with snakes and spiders although we have some incredibly deadly varieties so it's not surprising.

Anyway, I don't know much about compost heaps so I'll leave it right here.

Have a good Friday, and weekend ahead.

Thanks! Good weekend to you too

Aus does have some highly venomous creatures, for sure. No big predators but plenty of deadly small things. I try and learn to differentiate. Luckily, no hugely harmful creatures at my place although I am highly allergic to wasps so that is scary for me. I see no reason to kill them, though

All comes down to education I think, what a person was brought up to think. I understand things getting killed here, for being deadly. Yes, no big fellas here, plenty your way though yes?

Have a great weekend.

One the one hand, it's education but on the other, most people have a primal fear of these creatures. We have large predators but they are all sadly confined to game parks and similar

We have some serious ones roaming free...Crocs, bull and great white sharks...People get taken a bit. You're right though, primal fear.

OMG! How amazing that you were able to not only see that centipede but her cluster of eggs as well! What an incredible find and photos! WOW! I am not fond of stink bugs either but this one is neat looking because of the color. I really enjoyed these photos so keep them coming. Thanks for using #butterflyday tag @nikv. : )

Pleasure! I enjoy the fact that these tags exist and people use them. I have always been a fan of the little things we share our planet with

Me too, on both counts. : )

Awesome photography @nikv, I had never seen a scene like that. Congratulations.

Thank you

Hi @nikv! I just had to come back to look at this again. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!

I had a centipede in my house and their fast @nikv, I caught it and released it in the back yard. Great photos. 👍

!trdo

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @nikv!
@nikv will receive 0.00103275 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00068850 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I am glad you released it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67