Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 37

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! It is that time again...Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway-Week 37! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects from around the world, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and other insect photos, or art work for a chance to win SBI shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for photos and 1-SBI for art work. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will given for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks so much for all of your photos and art work which I continue to enjoy.

I posted the winners for Week 36 last week but if you missed it you can see the list of the many winners here.

Please give our friend @chromiumone some love. He is generously adding SBI to the prize pool for the winners.

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the Giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but are greatly appreciated and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for today of the Widow Skimmer Dragonfly.

You can't miss this beautiful dragonfly with its black and powdery blue colors when you see it flying or resting in a field. If you want to know if it is male or female, look at the abdomen. Males have a light powdery blue one and females have a yellow and black abdomen. This species is usually 45mm long.

While the males of most other species guard the females when laying their eggs, The Widow Skimmer Dragonfly (Libellula luctosa) females are left to fend for themselves "widowing" them; hence their name.

Yay! I captured its face! You all know how happy that makes me.

The thing I love most about dragonflies is that they eat a lot of mosquitoes. It only takes one to eat several hundred mosquitoes per day.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: insectidentification.org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Beautiful... I wish I see more dragonflies nowadays...

Thank you! I hope you will see more dragonflies soon. : )

Thank you and thanks for stopping by! : )

Nice Dragonfly @whatisnew good job on the face capture.
Probably going to be down this week, flu turned into pneumonia and the Doc. says I have to stay in bed for the next 3 - 5 days <,< (psssft )
Still the same gig through Dec. though 5 sbi added to each of your winners =)
Good luck everyone!!!
!DERANGED

Thanks Bud! I am very sorry to hear that you have pneumonia and I hope you get better real soon. Listen to the Doctor!!!

Hey Bud! Hope you are well now. Let me know how you are feeling.
Melinda told me that SBI is making changes due to all of the downvotes given to people who give and receive SBI so I wanted to let you know that I will be giving away Steem for prizes now beginning this Thursday.

Hello @whatisnew I'm doing good now, over the plague for the most part lol
Been very busy the last few days, everyone at work is sick now so I've been pulling a lot of hours.
Yes I've been keeping up on the SBI situation (mk113) and I was thinking about giving out Steem instead of sbi. I'll start with the winners from this week so I'll be giving out 5 Steem for each of winners Thursday instead of SBI.
I'll be posting again in the next few days.
Thanks for the care @whatisnew and have a good one.
!DERANGED

I am so happy to hear that you are well now but make sure you still get as much rest as you can because your resistance is low.
People like mk113 are ridiculous and I hope they get rid of him, and all of his many accounts.
FYI: Since Thursday is 5 days before Christmas, I might give everyone who entered last week 1-Steem each. But you do what you want to. Just wanted to let you know.
You take care of yourself Bud! Hugs!

deranged You just received DERANGED @whatisnew Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Beautiful dragonfly and wonderful photos.
I saw many dragonflies in Thailand and I had not a single photo. They did not want to stop for a second and I had maybe no patience enough. However I have something else in mind and soon I will prepare my post.

Thanks Neli! At least you were able to see the many dragonflies while you were there.
Looking forward to your post. : )

What interesting and beautiful wings he has!
I’ve never seen a dragonfly with black wings.
Thanks for sharing the photos. I’m really glad to know about it.

Thanks @djynn! This is a first for me too. I love it when I can show something new to others like you. : )

Greetings @whatisnew. This is my entry to this wonderful and special contest. First participation.

https://steempeak.com/@antoniarhuiz/thursday-is-butterfly-day-and-insect-day-giveaway-week-37

Hi @antoniarhuiz! Good to see you here and thanks for your entry! : )

Wow would love to see one of these...

I hope you do see one, you will never forget it. It is my first and I wonder if I will ever see another one.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 137 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks so much TrufflePig! : )

Hello @wahtisnew, I love dragonflies and this one is with blue wings is especially beautiful. I wasn't very lucky capturing them until this year, but it was the Prince Basket tail, which doesn't have blue wings. Maybe I find that one next year. We have all kinds here in Canada.

I have some Honey Bees for you today:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@lenasveganliving/hoeny-bees-and-wild-geranium-flower

Hi Lena! It was the first time for me to see this beauty. I have never heard of the Prince Basket tail and would love to see it. Best of luck to you. Thanks for your entry. : )

Beauty indeed. I always see them flying above my head, lol. But seeing one siting down, that is rare. I was lucky and I will post it next week, although I already did, back in August. I will mix it up with damselfly and small dragonfly so the post looks different . Always a pleasure 😊

Great! I am looking forward to seeing it. Sorry, I don't remember it.

It was not for Butterfly Day and Insect Day, I didn't know about it then. Did you run it back in August already?

Oh, OK. This Giveaway has been running for the past 9 months. : )

I wish I knew! I guess I have to repost some of my earlier photos, since now I am running out, lol. It's winter, so it will be long before I can take new ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63