Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 29!

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! It is that time again...Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 29! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for art work and 1-SBI for photos. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries! There are 3 winners for Week 28 and they are @bossel, @hangin and @sketch.and.jam. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet wil not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the giveaway, you must put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to giveaway more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your buuterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos today of the Hackberry Emperor.

This butterfly can be found near Hackberry trees; hence its name. It has a wing span of 1 3/8" - 2 1/2."

I have yet to see a Hackberry Emporor with its wings open but I did get a glimpse here.

Males perch in sunny areas with tall objects to watch for females. They feed on tree sap, rotting fruit juices, animal dung and at times, will feed on the liquid of decaying animal carcasses. The rarely visit flowers. This one was on a tall butterfly bush branch which makes me wonder if it is feeding or looking for females. Next to it is a Silver-Spotted Skipper.

The Hackberry Emperor is a fast and erratic flier, and rests with the head down on tree trunks. Of course this is a flower, but it makes me wonder if it is feeding or resting.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: butterfliesandmoths.org, insectidentification.org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Proof of transfer.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I can't say my thoughts have ever turned to the diet of the butterfly but I'm shocked to see it includes animal dung and the liquid of decaying animal carcasses. Somehow that doesn't seem quite right.

HaHa! I know! Can you imagine a delicate butterfly sharing a meal with an ugly vulture? LOL!

That's a cool looking shot.
Almost looks like an X ray of a dragonfly.

Hahaha! 😁 Thank you. 😊

Hi @gingbabida! Thanks for your entry. : )

Yay! Nice to finally see you here @tattoodjay! Thanks for your entry. : )

Thanks it took a while for me to join LOL

Cool hackberry emperor, thanks for the id. I may have seen one or two around here but figured they were a type of fritillary.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @sketch.and.jam! Glad I could be of some help. : )

Lovely butterfly and very nice shots.

Here is the link to my post. It is about wasps.

https://steempeak.com/@nelinoeva/wasp-for-insect-day

Hi @nelinoeva! Looking forward to your wasps. Thanks for your entry. : )

Here's my entry for this week, starting to run out of butterflies so this one has a moth and others https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sketch.and.jam/butterly-day-clear-wing-moth-and-company-yem9oboy

Posted using Partiko Android

The butterfly whisperer is running out of butterflies? LOL! Thanks for your entry. : )

Here is my entry!
A venom producing caterpillar.
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@karbon/2wuv7x-butterflyday

Hi @karbon! A stinging caterpillar! Run @karbon...RUN! Thanks for your entry. : )

Thanks, they have been in the news here... just starting to see them in the area

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's a nice shot

Thank you... they are easy to spot with that bright white colour..

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi Melinda! What a beautiful caterpillar. Thanks for your entry. : )

It was fun to see him!

genial, puedo participar con mi contenido en esppañol''?

Absolutamente. Gracias por pasar.

Hello 😊🦋
@whatisnew
My entry for week ~ 29
🤔
You just might want to check under the picnic table to see whats hiding under there before you sit down.
I'm not positive on the identification
but I think it's a Wolf Spider/Dock Spider.
20190926_152334.jpg

https://steemit.com/photography/@annephilbrick/butterfly-and-insect-day

OMG! You just gave me the heebie-jeebies! Thanks for your entry...I think. LOL!

🕸🕷🕸🕷
😊..!!
Your most welcome @whatisnew.
Here's another picture I took and didn't include in my post. Never to late..right ? ..lol..!!!
😅😁😳😉😱
20190927_073730.jpg

OMG!!!!!!!!!! It might be too late for you! LOL! I hope that @sketch.and.jam sees these photos. He loves spiders.

😯😳🕷🕸😱🤗😂..!!
lol..@whatisnew
I hope @sketch.and.jam drops to check this awesome BIG 🕸Spider out.. :-)

I will send him to you. It is way too good for him to miss it. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49